Almost Too Big To Get My Head Around in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 13, 2020, 11:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Early this morning coming back from the grocery I noticed the three new ornamental cherries planted last summer were in bloom. After I washed up and put things away I went over and took pictures. It started to rain about an hour later.

Things have changed out there in the world since Wednesday when I was agonizing over if I should cancel my class that evening. Everybody is canceling everything.

My regular church classes have been canceled until at least April 1st and it is highly likely beyond that date as well. I haven’t heard anything from the studio yet. I may need to take a financial hit on those rental dates. We’ll see how this all unfolds.

The church is having one virtual service tomorrow morning.

Mrs. Sherlock and I will go hiking instead unless we have snow, which is a possibility. We decided not to risk Body Pump class where we would have to handle much community equipment.

This morning when I went to take a shower there was no hot water.

This time I didn’t freak out. In the ten years I have been here this has happened twice before both times on days when we were snowed in and everybody in the building was home.

I turned off all my electronics, flipped all the breakers and then reset all the clocks and went to the grocery right after sunrise.

When I got home I had enough hot water to wash my hands and was later able to take a bath.

Yesterday Kes came up here and that was lovely to see her in person. We exchanged accumulated “stuff” and chatted for a number of hours but didn’t do anything. It was a treat to see her in person because I don’t know when I will again.

Today I have been drifting a bit and I need to stop that. I have all sorts of projects I can do. And last night I splurged and bought a Kindle mystery by Donna Leon, the first in a series I do so hope I like.

Today at the grocery, and I am sure it is the same for many of you; all the dry rice and beans were gone, and of course all the cleaning goods. I was able to find a bottle of hydrogen peroxide. There was no alcohol (as in rubbing alcohol) at all.

I am grateful; everyone in my immediate family is fine.

My beloved great niece is home for spring break early and although she has a big paper to turn in it looks like her in person school year may be over. Home is Seattle but school is in Maryland so the logistics there are a bit daunting.

So many stories…like the tale of one of my students; her daughter took my student’s granddaughter to Paris for some sort of program abroad and they were there on Wednesday night when the man in the White House gave that inaccurate and not reassuring speech and announced the travel ban.

They all decided it was prudent to bring the very disappointed teenager home.

So many lives are disrupted on so many levels. So many.

I am trying to wrap my head around it and it feels so big it is hard to take in.

A big thank you though for everyone out there making a big effort to help us get through all this. You are not, and will not be unnoticed.

Last time I was in the locker room at the gym, the older woman that cleans was working on the mirrors and after I washed my hands I stopped her and gave her a small tip. She was surprised and grateful and what made me sad is that it was clear no one else had done that in a long long while…

So many people working so hard… thank you.


Last updated March 13, 2020


woman in the moon March 14, 2020

The new little blooming cherries look so hopeful. Just what we need.

Jinn March 14, 2020

My little city has gone crazy . It’s like they are practicing for the apocalypse :-( I am not scared of the virus; we do not even have anyone that is ill ! What scares me is how people are behaving .
I am already longing for calm and boredom ! :-)

noko Jinn ⋅ March 14, 2020

There is a bit of that here too. We do have the virus here. I can understand though, the fear and uncertainty are crazy making.

Jinn noko ⋅ March 14, 2020

They certainly seem to be .

Marg March 16, 2020

I’m really hoping once this is all past that we will be much nicer and more caring human beings as a result - that would be an excellent silver lining :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.