Unsettled in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 12, 2020, 1:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

From yesterday, this precocious iris is blooming across the street. You can tell that we had sun, lovely healing heartwarming sun.

I received an email from my coordinator at the church early this afternoon saying they weren’t closing but were canceling all large in person events and she included a statement to use from the church that all folks over 60 and those with underlying health issues should self-distance. That it was an act of love.

But if I wanted to teach I could.

Ughh. I sent out a broadcast email asking if anyone was planning on coming. It turns out that at least 3 people were. One is 68 and a little frail, and one is under 60 but has an autoimmune disease. He had actually received an email from his medical provider this morning saying that because of the immune suppressing meds he is on he should use extra caution in public contact.

He wanted to come to class because he wants to feel like things in general and his life in particular is normal. But he said that honestly he wasn’t feeling great. I told him I was canceling class and I did.

Sigh. I have some cool material that I taught both Monday and Tuesday.

Hey, I worked in a large dynamic architectural firm in San Francisco during the AIDS epidemic. My beloved fellow employers weren’t just getting sick; they were dying. This is not something to mess with.

They say the church will be open Monday. With caution I do think I will teach that class. We’ll see.

There was a bit of drama with the rental studio and the continued mitigation from the sewer break but I will just say that it got worked out and I had two students and we had a sweet intimate class. Everything with that is good except I need to drum up more students.

Kind of hard to do in the middle of a pandemic.

Sunday Mrs. Sherlock and I got lost doing reconnaissance for a group urban hike she was doing today. It wasn’t a big being lost, I mean we knew roughly where we were; we had a sort of a map. She wanted the hike to be in the 4 mile range and it was mostly flat. We ended up walking almost 7 miles. We had fun though and Frida was good.

She went back Monday on her own with Frida and figured out how to do it. It is this cool area close in on the east side that was built in the early 1900’s with all these diagonal streets that end in 4 rose gardens, How cool is that?

Still by the end we could have sworn the Chinese Baptist church was following us around.

I hope we are all able to stay well and safe. This sure is a time of great disruption.


Last updated March 12, 2020


Marg March 12, 2020

It sure is - your title is very apt for right now!

Jinn March 14, 2020

Beautiful iris ! Sun is good. They say the sun and warmer weather will stop this. Come on Spring !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.