Giving myself a break in Just Jane

  • March 21, 2014, 8:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I realized yesterday that having Declan has brought about such a litany of changes and that I need to stop being so hard on myself. When I stopped to think about what my life is like now, its no wonder I feel like I'm not good enough. I need to stop setting the bar so freaking high.

Dont get me wrong, I love my little boy with every fiber of my being and I would not change a single thing. But the below makes me realize that life is a lot more difficult right now and its understandable and expected that I falter.

I am in a constant state of exhaustion. I have never been more concerned about the state of the world. I am worried about finances now more than ever. My body image is 10 times worse than it ever has been, and thats saying a lot. I have been unable to lose weight no matter what I do (or don't do). Most nights I dont eat dinner until 8pm. I work full time during the day and then go home and do my 2nd full time job. I am chronically sleep-deprived. I am completely unfocused at work and I struggle to be productive. I cannot have caffeine or the medication I take to help my focus because I'm still breastfeeding.

So there you have it. My reminder to myself that sometimes it's okay to be in survival mode and know that things won't always be this chaotic and exhausting.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.