More Mixed Feelings (and mini-deets) in These Foolish Things

  • March 6, 2020, 2:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Bluh.

The thrill of mini-vacay is over and it’s back to the grind, following up on the trade show stuff and generally feeling behind on everything. And even though a very well-known publication visited the show and ranked the latest collection of TLIC the best in its category, I feel like the shine has worn off and it’s starting to tarnish, even.

Yesterday afternoon, the chick who sits next to me in the office got a really, really wonderful job offer for a better job and a very progressive and exciting company and it made me…not jealous, but it just pushed me to work on my goal of promoting myself this year.

It’s time. The trade show that I work so hard on is over and though it’s time to build my strategy for moving this line forward, it’s also time to build my strategy for moving myself forward. I think I needed this kick in the pants.

And OMG. I just nearly killed myself trying to jump through hoops today to get an order out (a responsibility that is not mine but our warehouse doesn’t seem to give a flip about any kind of urgency)…only to find out that the date had been padded. Uggghhh. Why do I try?

Right now there are a few golden opportunities I can see on the job search boards, but I wonder how the friggin COVID-19 bullsh is going to affect job openings in the foreseeable future. I guess I won’t know until I know, you know?

Weekend plans as follows:

  • Tonight is the 50th birthday party of Best Bud’s SIL, who is also a friend. She and her husband (BB’s bro) just moved back to the US from Dubai, where he was a pilot for Emirates for years. I boarded the dog tonight so I could go straight out to the burbs after work to celebrate at a winery with them. It’s been too long since I’ve seen all of them.

  • Tomorrow morning I’ll pick up the dog and likely head to a coffee place where I can tweak my CV/resume. I’d applied to a job through some kind of online service that sends free resume writing feedback (of course, with the offer to re-write your resume), but I feel like the tidbits that they sent back were actually really great ideas). I’ll send out as many as I can over the weekend to see if I can kickstart some momentum.

  • No plans for tomorrow night. Sigh. Spring forward…so, we’ll all lose an hour of sleep in the United States.

  • Sunday organization time. I’ve bulked up on some supplies and have this little storage space that I’d like to get organized. It’s also about to be Spring cleaning time…. Feeling the need to air out the place after all these recent dark days

That’s really all I have for now. Was gonna write about the craziness in Miami, but honestly, I’m not feeling that coming out right now. What was once something that felt exciting, like rubbing elbows with famous people (because they WERE famous people!) just doesn’t quite feel like something to dish about right now.

Don’t get me wrong, it was fun, fun, FUN! I had so many laughs…

Okay, just thinking about this drunk couple I hung out with who got in several different little fights during the course of the night…and the wife ending up wandering and stumbling off in the hotel lobby - after her husband left in a huff - and security trying to wrangle her to get her drunk ass back up to her room and then the NBA star’s bodyguard texting me, telling me to please come keep him company in the club… And then the bartender giving me his number - for later!! Hahaha! SO MANY LAUGHS!!

Uh yeah, I guess I just dished a bit there (oh, also the bodyguards giving me a ride back to the hotel in the Escalade, heh).

But I also feel like that stuff is so far away now.

Anyway. Gotta roll. Couple more things to complete before I can call it a day and hit the birthday party.

Have a lovely weekend,
GS


Last updated March 06, 2020


Complicated Disaster March 06, 2020

Whaaaaa? So I arrive in the US tomorrow just in time to lose an hours sleep??!! Glad you mentioned it though! lol
I wanna here more about your adventures in Miami!!!
xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ March 06, 2020

Yep! Spring forward on Saturday night!

Come meet me for a drink and I’ll tell you stories! 😂

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ March 06, 2020

Next time I'm in your neighborhood I'll meet you for a drink for sure 😊 xx

Marg March 07, 2020

What does the date had been padded mean? I’ve never heard that expression before?

Ginger Snap Marg ⋅ March 07, 2020

Oh, so...sometimes our sales team will tell us that we have to deliver something by X date, but the actual date is maybe a week or two later. They "pad" the date with extra time in case something goes wrong. I do it too, in my timelines. Because something ALWAYS goes wrong. I just plan extra time for unforeseeable issues.

Marg Ginger Snap ⋅ March 08, 2020

Oh right - thanks for explaining!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.