Loved It/Hated It in These Foolish Things

  • March 3, 2020, 4:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just back late last night from my trip to Florida. Started with a trade show in Orlando (surprised that they didn’t cancel as last night I talked with some folks at the airport who flew in for a conference and they were told to go right back home). COVID-19 is rocking our world.

Trade show was just that - the same trade show I’ve been attending for eight years. On the one hand I was as excited as ever with the new products I’m launching this year, but on the other hand it was a depressing show due to coronavirus (truly about ⅓ of the exhibitions and people were missing) and I’m just so tired of the same bullshit from sales and even rude buyers.

Anyway. Second part of the trip was a drive down to Miami for some R&R and maybe some hot fun! Here’s what I loved and hated - all at the same time:

Loved:

  • The whole city is one great big giant art installation. It truly felt like everything was a treat for my eyes. Especially walking through Wynwood and the Design District

  • Weather was sunny and beautiful the whole time I was there.

  • Everyone was happy to be there. Met super friendly people from all over the world and with so many different backgrounds, interests, careers and stages of life

  • Everything just feels magical and like a different world. I think a lot of it has to do with the art deco vibe and the sunbleached flavor wherever you go.

  • Cool, cool restaurants and bars - tried some new ones and visited some of my faves.

  • As a solo traveler, I felt confident and even pretty most of the time. I can’t tell you how many people complimented my hair (so glad I got it cut a couple of days before I left on the trip)

  • I encountered wonderful, and I do mean WONDERFUL bartenders. Though I didn’t go to a TON of bars (depending on your definition…), every place I visited had amazing bartenders who made me feel like the best thing since sliced bread. Y’all, drinks are INSANELY expensive in Miami (like $25 a pop for a glass of champagne), and I bet I paid for two drinks the whole time. And again, I didn’t go there to drink myself under the table - I went to bars to people watch and interact with humanity. Those bartenders took very good care of me.

  • Loved having four glorious days in Miami. I don’t think I’ve ever been there that long - at least not simply for pleasure.

  • Oh! And I got pulled over for speeding on the way down and got off with a warning! Lucky, lucky me!

Hated:

  • Where I stayed. Now, don’t get me wrong, The Freehand is frequently one of the top rated places to stay and hang out in Miami due to its super hip vibe and boho chic style, but it’s also a hostel with a couple of large guest houses. I stayed in a suite, which was nice and spacious, but it was also kind of dark and gritty and cold. My room made me sad as the sofa was worn out and the bathroom was in need of a renovation. I did love the bed, however and found myself sleeping in every morning. Still, while I may have dinner at the WONDERFUL restaurant, or drinks poolside at the Broken Shaker again, I will never, ever be staying here again.

  • Another one of the reasons I stayed in bed a little long each morning was because it was COLD in Miami over the weekend! Granted, not freezing cold, but there was no humidity and the wind was blowing and the only way I could get warm was to sit/stand directly under the rays of sunshine! Glad it was sunny, but MAN, when it got dark, you can bet your sweet ass I had my leather jacket on and my scarf wrapped around my neck. Of course, the old and quirky hotel had no heat. I wish I’d brought feetie pajamas!

  • Parking situation. No parking at the hotel, but there was a parking lot next to the hotel. Fine, right? Wellllll. Sure, but you had to feed the meter every three hours. Yep. Okay, well, except from 6am until 11am, but any time in between, I had to go on the app and click around and pay. So during the afternoon I’d have to check and click. At 6pm, check and click…9pm, check, click…12am…3am… Did I miss any? I did - a couple of times. I can’t believe I only got ONE parking ticket! But yeah, feeding that damn meter every three hours was no bueno.

  • Though I may have felt pretty, I also felt chunky. Meh.

  • And I didn’t think it would happen, but I felt lonely every so often. I went to an amazing dinner at Pao in the Faena Hotel. This was the only time I didn’t dine at a bar or in my room. They set a beautiful table for me and I had exquisite service, but it was weird not having someone to discuss the scrumptious delights with. I just sat there thinking that maybe, maaaaybe I was being a tad bit too independent on this trip. I decided that at the very least, my next trip will be with a group or possibly one other special person.

So there you go. Some things I loved. Some things I didn’t.

And yeah, I need to give you the deets I promised (see previous entry) and I will do that because it’s a good story, but I wanted to get the above out while I can still feel those feelings.

Yes, the trip was very much worth it, but it sure made me think a lot.

Also, I missed you. I had my laptop with me, but every free moment I either wanted to be directly under the sun’s rays or directly under the covers in bed…

Love…Miami-style,
GS


Last updated March 03, 2020


Complicated Disaster March 03, 2020

I went to a trade show today which had the same virus-vibe. I'm off to another one in DC on Sat and I hope some people turn up!!
Solo travelling is fine by me. I just make sure I have my Kindle!!
Hopefully the love outweighed the hate!
xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ March 03, 2020

Yeah, you better keep checking. I was surprised that there are conferences being closed. But you never know! Would suck to have to turn right back around to go home!

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ March 04, 2020

We got an email last nigh saying DC is definitely on. But will punters turn up? That's the question! xx

bobbi01 March 04, 2020

I just can't imagine Miami being cold. Glad the goods outweighed the not so good.

Marg March 04, 2020

Wait what? They expected people to WAKE UP DURING THE NIGHT to feed a parking meter?? That’s completely nuts!

Ginger Snap Marg ⋅ March 04, 2020

That's exactly right!! I was blown away. Can you imagine if you were there on business and needed to get some sleep? Or even just wanted to be a human being and get some sleep?? Insane.

plushcreep March 04, 2020

Florida's one of the very few states I've never been to (all in the South, actually). I'm glad you had a good time, but ouch, those are some expen$ive drink$.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.