I'm Walken Here! in Things That Aren't Mine But That I Have Things To Say About

  • March 19, 2014, 10:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

(Well, I'm not. Nor am I Walken. I apologize for the misinformation in the subject header.)

The first time I can recall being fully cognizant of the wonder that was Christopher Walken, it was when my friend John advised me to watch the Fatboy Slim video "Weapon of Choice." I had no idea who Fatboy Slim was, nor was I particularly keen to find out what their weapon of choice. I was dimly aware of Christopher Walken, thanks primarily to his role in the movie "Batman Returns." Which at the time was, for me, a disappointing film, but only because I had no idea that Val Kilmer and George Clooney were just around the corner. But I digress.

If you're on Facebook, you've likely already seen this, but I'm putting it here anyway because while it may be "trending" now, it will eventually float off to wherever it is Facebook posts go once Facebook decides to stop showing them to you, and this is one I'd like to watch again easily. And by "this" I mean the mega-mix of Christopher Walken clips of him dancing and whatnot to the song "Everybody Dance Now." And I think you'll agree that, however you feel about that song, good or bad, Walken makes it better. But don't take MY word for it:

(I think I need to watch a few more Walken movies. Especially whichever one it is where he's supposed to be an aristocrat. I might also have to see Hairspray, which I recognized solely by John Travolta...)


TellTaleHeart March 19, 2014

This reminds me... I was reading a Cracked article today that said that famous line "I'm walking here!" was a total ad lib. They were tryingto shoot the scene unobtrusively sso it took a lot of takes. When they finally had a clean shot, a taxi blew the red light, which spawned the angry "I'm walking here!"

And now you know.

TellTaleHeart March 19, 2014

Also, Walken was downright charming in Hairspray.

MORE COWBELL.

Krud TellTaleHeart ⋅ March 19, 2014

You're gonna be wearin' gold-plated diapers!

Jigger March 20, 2014

Hairspray was delightful. I saw it in a theater about seven years ago with Firebabe. We were two of four people in the whole place and we laughed ourselves nearly sick. So much fun.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.