Another New Addition and Illness in Scottish Meanderings

  • Feb. 21, 2020, 9:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Baby Number 17 has been born in the family - Evangeline Grace Brown - born on the 16th February. (I’m very happy to see her first name has been shortened to Eva already). Look at this head of hair :)


Proud Dad Alistair.


And that’s knocked me off my perch as first equal (with my sister) being the granny with the most grandchildren from one child in the family as this was Alistair’s fourth baby. Not all from the same mum - he has one daughter who lives in Orkney with her mum and two boys from a previous relationship who go back and fore between him and their mum. The relationship he’s in now apparently was rocky around the time his girlfriend Roz got pregnant but they worked on it so I just hope it lasts.

Mum would be rolling in her grave.

I had mentioned to Nikki at the end of last year that we were really lucky with all the kids in the family - no-one has had any major crises at all and everyone is relatively healthy. Of course now I wish I hadn’t said anything because poor wee Matt, who will be 3 in March, is going through the mill at the moment. I touched on this briefly in previous entries but I know because my entries are generally so long, things can get missed so I’ll recap.

Cat, his mum, (my brother Ian’s daughter) took him to the doctor around the 20th of December last year because he kept being sick sporadically and it wasn’t clearing up. The doctor decided to get him admitted to hospital where they did tests and got him on a drip but couldn’t find the source of the problem. He was in all through Christmas but it took until the end of December before he managed 24 hours without throwing up and he finally got home on the 30th. But threw up again on the 31st.

In the meantime, on the 4th January, Cat delivered his baby brother, Oli! All went well with the birth thank goodness.

They had an appointment back at the hospital in the first week of January for further tests for Matt and he was given a CT scan - from that they found a lump so decided to admit him to Edinburgh Sick Children’s Hospital on the 10th. So Cat, Mike & Matt, complete with newborn, had to up sticks and travel the 100 miles down there where Matt was given an MRI and that revealed a brain tumour :(

A few days later he got an operation lasting about 4-5 hours and that all went well - they took a biopsy but had to wait two weeks for the result of that. Matt made a good recovery from the op but then had problems with constipation and then diarrhoea. And then Cat went down with vomiting and diarrhoea. Then Mike! The only good thing about all that was that Cat was isolated from the ward to save passing anything on so it helped her get some much needed rest as she was completely exhausted at this point. Thankfully Oli was a star and just doing what newborns generally do (Mike's Mum & Dad went down with them to help with him).

They finally got home on the 25th January - luckily Ian & Margaret (Cat’s mum and dad) had come over on the 20th December for 5 days purely by chance to spend Christmas here then were supposed to be going up to Skye to spend Hogmanay there with friends. They cancelled that and stayed on to help Cat & Mike out and look after their 2 spaniels whilst they were away. They finally got back home on the 5th February after being here for 42 days longer than planned!

On the 27th January, the biopsy results came through with the unfortunate result that the tumour is malignant so will require further treatment. Apparently it’s a fairly rare one so they were told they might have to travel as far as Germany for radiotherapy! However they’ve since been informed they can get what they need in Manchester so although it’s not as bad as Germany, it’s still a major upheaval. They had to go down the week before last for a few days preparation then they go back this weekend for a couple of weeks before finally going down again for 6 weeks of radiotherapy - the dogs are being taken to relatives in the Lake District this time.

So poor Matt completely missed Christmas and will spend his 3rd birthday in March having radiotherapy in a hospital in Manchester.

I must admit I've caught myself thinking on occasion that we’re tending to produce helicopter parents nowadays who fuss at the slightest thing but thank God for that GP who sent Matt up to hospital in the first place and also a consultant who wasn’t happy with the CT scan and wanted a second opinion because that’s how the tumour was picked up (and was hopefully caught in good time).

I had literally JUST finished typing that when Nikki phoned me saying "Was it being sick that was Matt's first symptom?" I knew exactly what she meant because Ruari has been sick off and on for the past week or so - the girls had a sickness bug 2 weeks ago so we assumed he'd picked that up but then after that cleared, a few days later he was sick again but again it cleared up but he threw up on Wednesday night and was sick a couple of times yesterday as well. I think she was hoping I would say oh stop panicking whereas I was desperately trying to say (kindly) "Get off the phone and call the surgery!" (It shuts at 6 p.m. and this was 5.20 p.m.)

Obviously what happened to Matt is playing on her mind - also the fact Mum was diagnosed with a brain tumour shortly before she died. However she managed to speak to a doctor and they told her to come down straight away - checked all his vitals and nothing seems amiss so she was just told to keep an eye on him over the weekend and if anything changes she's to phone NHS 24 (24 hour service where you can get advice over the phone and be seen by a doctor at the hospital if necessary). Her friend is coming round tonight so that'll take her mind off it for a while and I'll be going out tomorrow night so that'll help as well. The girls are at their Dad's so at least she doesn't have them to see to.

Prayers, positive thoughts, whatever you can do will be much appreciated for Matt in this next trial he has to go through.


I’ve made a little progress with my New Year resolutions.

(3) Counselling
I’ve met with the Agency Manager, Christine, and we’ve set up a plan for the way forward. She acknowledges it’ll be hard for me physically but feels I’m probably more confident than I think otherwise I wouldn’t be pushing for this to happen (I’m not sure about that but I see where she’s coming from). Next step is to set up a pseudo counselling session with a member of staff there (she’s going to do this) to see if I have the stamina to sit and listen to someone for 50 minutes and do the paperwork afterwards. She doesn’t need it observed but feels it would be useful to have some feedback once it’s over in case there’s anything I need to work on.

(4) Weight
I’ve started counting calories but can’t get them under 1700 on average daily - I’m hoping that might be enough for a really slow weight loss over a period of a year.

(5) Evening Activities
I managed along to a meeting of the children’s writing group I mentioned in my last entry which was held in my city so no long drive to get there. To my dismay though, the symptoms kicked in as usual after an hour of being there although I was able to last out to the end of the meeting. However (stupidly in my opinion) this particular group are part of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and will only allow someone to come along to one meeting to see if they like it. Thereafter you have to become a member to go to further meetings. Membership is £90 a year and I’m really struggling to find out what you get for that - apart from constructive criticism of your writing from the Society and the chance to attend workshops and conferences. It seems a lot for very little.

Also unfortunately, I had a reaction the next day from being out in the evening and it was a major struggle to get through Italian and Lily’s swimming class. So at the moment that’s going to have to be a no.

As well as that, Nikki & the kids and I were out at Spectra, Aberdeen’s Festival of Light (focussing on Scotland’s coasts and waters) last Saturday evening which was an impromptu decision by her once I got out there and consisted of a good couple of hours of walking around town with the kids and the buggy. Nikki carried Ruari for most of it and I found the buggy quite helpful as it acted as a sort of walker for me :)

I was dead impressed with what was laid on - beautiful holograms played out on some of the city’s main buildings to some evocative music, some for 10 minutes at a time and all for free. There were also laser lights which the kids could fire up the building themselves and various giant octopus tentacles all over the place (which Nikki kept wanting to call testicles :)

Here's one of the slideshows - excuse Nikki & I yapping through it - I didn't think to shut up while I was taking it!


Unfortunately one of the places had long queues so we had to pass on it which was a shame because I had a look at the Council’s YouTube video of what we missed and it looked spectacular. {Janet: - I think they’re doing something similar for the Festival of Science in Edinburgh - I was hearing them talk about it on the radio today - can totally recommend it for the girls}. It was just a shame Storm Dennis was in full force as the weather was very windy, cold and wet - however we had the kids wrapped up well and they didn’t feel it. And it was a good job we went that night - the following night was the last one and they had to cancel it due to the weather :(

The kids loved it all though - even Ruari was mesmerised - and the girls were asleep within 5 minutes of getting in to their beds once we got home! Not so Ruari - he got a second wind and sat and watched The Masked Singer with us quite the thing while we had our tea. I normally stay and play Scrabble with Nikki once the kids are in bed but I was completely done in so we gave it a miss and I was home by 11.45. But not before I had woken these two Sleeping Beauties up to get to their respective beds!


Oddly I wasn’t too bad on Sunday but there seemed to be a delayed reaction because Monday was a major struggle and if the postie hadn’t rung the bell at 1.30 p.m. thereby getting me out of bed, I wouldn’t have bothered with table tennis at all! As it was I managed half an hour and that was enough.

But at least that was a couple of evening activities tried out.

I had a weird experience with that Masked Singer programme. It consists of various celebrities singing in elaborate costumes and the idea is a panel is supposed to guess who they are by their voices alone. They can be celebrities from walks of life apart from singers e.g. comedians, sports personalities etc. to try and make it difficult. Every week one of the celebrities gets unmasked until one is left as the winner. I’ve been watching it when I’ve been at Nikki’s on Saturdays and several weeks ago, while lying in bed on my phone, I clearly saw what I thought was a picture of one of the singers with her mask off. The person revealed was a young woman with red hair and I vaguely recognised her as Nicola Roberts from Girls Aloud.

I couldn’t exactly remember which costume I’d seen but thought it was either The Daisy or Queen Bee - but the thing was neither of them had been unmasked yet. So I just thought I'd been on a page somewhere on my phone where someone had superimposed her face onto the mask showing a guess they’d made as she was someone folk thought could have been one of the singers. I did briefly mention it to Nikki that night but didn’t write anything down because I didn't think it meant anything.

Come the final several weeks later, Queen Bee won the competition and when she was unmasked as - drum roll - Nicola Roberts, I realised what I was looking at was exactly what I saw that morning! I’ve spent ages searching through my Internet history to see if I can find the page I thought I saw again but come up with nothing.

Cue Twilight Zone music.😱


Last updated February 22, 2020


Deleted user February 21, 2020

Oh my goodness, look at that little girl! How beautiful, congratulations.

Very strange indeed about the masked singer premonition... odd!

Marg Deleted user ⋅ February 22, 2020

Someone has left me a PM to say she thinks she saw it too in an article in one of the daily rags so I’ve put the crystal ball and gypsy shawl away for now☹️😄

Just Annie February 21, 2020

Poor Matt and his family. I'll send positive healing thoughts into the universe.

Eva is a cutie. Love the hair!

Marg Just Annie ⋅ February 22, 2020

Thank you! Going by that hair I suspect Roz’s beautiful blonde locks are from a bottle ‘cause Ali is definitely not dark😂

noko February 21, 2020

I enjoyed the sea horse mermaid comment. Exactly what I was thinking. Oh, you all must be worried sick about Matt. They are doing amazing things with treatment these days but it is so hard on the whole family. Hope your grandson is through his not feeling we’ll phase now. I was thinking of you when I heard about the awful weather. We have a bunch of counseling services here, by text and phone. I wonder if that would be easier in terms of your energy with not having to travel? Still, what a great idea to try and see how it goes. I believe in slow steady weight loss. That is the kind that lasts and after the work involved lasting would be a good thing!

Marg noko ⋅ February 22, 2020

Yes it is although it’s a pain at the time :)
The Agency is only about 20 minutes’ drive away so that’s ok in travel time. I think personally I wouldn’t be comfortable counselling in any other way because things can get so misconstrued by text and you’re missing a lot if you’re not face to face - expressions, body language, important silences - all that sort of thing - which all adds to the experience for both counsellor and client.

noko Marg ⋅ February 22, 2020

Oh I do agree, the human face to face contact is so important and if the travel time and set up is not too draining... I did about a year of counseling with a therapist over the phone and text during the worst of the work/health stuff and it was helpful and manageable because we didn't need to travel to see each other but definitely not ideal. I look forward to hearing how the trial session goes.

Marg noko ⋅ February 23, 2020

It IS something I did think about at one time - like maybe Skype or something - but I’d hate to rely on an Internet connection in case it zapped out at a crucial moment! I know it works quite well on the phone but I’ve always hated speaking on the phone for some reason so I think that would get in the way. Hopefully I’ll be fine and won’t need to think of alternatives but I agree that it’s better to be prepared just in case :)

noko Marg ⋅ February 23, 2020

Makes so much sense. We had problems with the connections sometimes and it was annoying but we figured it out each time. The fact that you are concerned about that and had thought it through already proves to me just how wonderful at this you are. :)

Marg noko ⋅ February 23, 2020

Awww thank you Noko!

mcbee February 21, 2020

Such a beautiful baby!

Marg mcbee ⋅ February 22, 2020

Thank you!

thesunnyabyss February 22, 2020

first off, beautiful baby!!!

I hope Matt recovers quickly and his family can get back to normal again, they are in my thoughts and cares,

that light show was amazing, how cool, what a beautiful family you have made,

and very weird about the Masked Singer, very freaky!!!

take care, hugs!!!

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ February 22, 2020

Thank you! I really hope Cat and Mike catch a break soon - they’ve been through a lot in 3 months :(

ConnieK February 22, 2020

Evangaline Grace is such a pretty name and yes that is a generous head of GORGEOUS hair! I will be praying for Matt and for his family.
LOVED the holographs! Magical! Somehow you connected on the winner. Let me know if you have a dream about numbers for the Florida Lottery! ;)

Marg ConnieK ⋅ February 22, 2020

Haha will do!

NorthernSeeker February 24, 2020

Wow...Evangeline sure has a head of hair. I'm sending positive thoughts for Ruari and Matt...poor tykes. The Festival of Lights looks wonderful. Thanks for the video because I was having a hard time imagining what holograms on buildings would look like. The Masked Singer is good fun. I haven't had a guess that's even close to right.

edna million February 24, 2020

Poor Matt- what an awful thing to go through, and how scary and exhausting for his parents. I can't imagine having a brand new baby on top of that. My Cousin E from OD's little niece was diagnosed with a form of lymphatic cancer about six months ago. Happily she's doing really well now after chemo, and has no signs of cancer, but she'll have to have periodic chemo for two years. Poor little thing is just five, and they have two younger children as well, it's been very difficult. Elaine and her husband have been able to go stay with them for extended periods. I hope Matt will have a complete recovery, and SO glad they found it early!

Marg edna million ⋅ February 24, 2020

It’s awful to see it in kids that young - seems all wrong somehow. Hopefully they caught it in good time.

edna million Marg ⋅ February 24, 2020

I think they did, and it's actually very curable in young children - but they do have to keep having treatment for years. It does seem completely wrong and so unfair.

edna million February 24, 2020

Little Eva is adorable! It's funny, I am at work and was JUST thinking about how many Graces there are now. Especially as a middle name. It seems like every other student I work with has Grace as her middle name! And these are all college age kids so that must be a trend that started awhile back.

The counseling plan sounds very promising! Too bad about the writing group, though. That is a lot of money if you're not sure what sort of return you're getting. OH and how fun was that light show! I enjoyed the commentary as well!

Marg edna million ⋅ February 24, 2020

Really? I wonder where it originated from? Probably some well known celebrity that I’m completely unaware of!

edna million Marg ⋅ February 24, 2020

Good question! I know it was a popular name in my parents' era, but that's been a LONG time ago. I don't know any current day celebrities named Grace, but that is not saying much as I don't seem to know ANY celebrities anymore.

Marg edna million ⋅ February 25, 2020

Snap😂

edna million Marg ⋅ February 24, 2020

LOL, just had to go google it! Still don't know why exactly it's so popular, although speculation is that it's because of the religious connotation. And apparently quite a few celebrities have used it as a middle name for their daughters. William H Macy and Felicity Huffman did, and since one of their daughters was in the recent scandal of parents paying to get their children into college when they don't have the qualifications, it fits the age range I'm seeing. It's listed as the third most popular middle name on a number of lists, so it's lasted for years!

Marg edna million ⋅ February 25, 2020

That’s really interesting!

Serin February 24, 2020

Oh Matt, I hope you get past this fast and with minimal misery. Poor boy.

And welcome to the world, Evangeline. You're gorgeous! :)

JustSurviveSomehow February 26, 2020

Oh no, I don't remember seeing that previously! That is so sad about your little great nephew! I would be paranoid if I was Nikki too. :( I wish him a full, speedy recovery. I am glad that the counseling is underway! I am confident that it will work out for you!

Marg JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ February 26, 2020

Thank you! Matt is getting a couple of scans today so we’ll see what that produces.

Kristi1971 February 27, 2020

What a beautiful baby girl!!! How lovely.

I'm sending prayers for little Matt. Children are wonderfully resilient thankfully, but it's a tough ordeal for sure. I hope this takes care of the tumor for good!

Marg Kristi1971 ⋅ February 27, 2020

Me too. His first day which was just for CT and MRI scans went well although he had to be starved from 8 a.m. and wasn’t seen until late afternoon. However he woke early enough to get some breakfast before 8 so that was at least something :)

Kristi1971 Marg ⋅ February 28, 2020

And that's awful, because a little one doesn't understand not being able to eat.

Marg Kristi1971 ⋅ February 28, 2020

I know - it must have been such a long day for them all!

Oswego February 28, 2020

I was so sorry to hear about Matt and all the difficulties that poor child is going through. My thoughts and prayers go out to him and his family.

Eva is a beautiful baby!

Marg Oswego ⋅ February 28, 2020

Thank you! He had CT and MRI scans on Wednesday and the results were good so we were all grateful for that. I think they’re getting home today or tomorrow :)

Justlovely March 02, 2020

I'm going to reply in bits, because I'll forget everything if I read it all before I comment. Sorry to hear about a sick kiddo, but I always think it's a relief once something is no longer a mystery. Glad there is good care available to him. And CONGRATS on a new baby. That baby is very pretty, and I wouldn't bother to say that if I didn't mean it.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ March 02, 2020

You’re right - I think there was more worry when they couldn’t find anything wrong.

That's the disadvantage of a long entry! Mind you my memory is so bad nowadays I find I forget things between paragraphs even in reasonable length entries so now I always just start a comment then scroll back up to read the rest and add to it as I’m going along :)

Justlovely March 02, 2020

Frustrating that the group is so expensive to be a part of.

Justlovely March 02, 2020

I love the light show, and even the talking! LOL I am always trying to find these things in our community to do with the family. It's harder to get my boys to come out, because as teenagers, they can be very cranky, but I think it does us all good. Very weird about the Masked singer. I haven't ever watched that show. I'm creeped out by people in costumes pretty much all the time.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ March 02, 2020

Oh you’d have hated that show then - they were in full elaborate costumes every week!

Sabrina-Belle March 05, 2020

I can't believe I am so late reading this.
What an awful time Cat and her family have had. I do hope little Matt's treatment goes well and he recovers soon. I am sending prayers and positive thoughts.
Baby Evangeline is beautiful.
I loved the slide show, the chatting rather adds to the atmosphere.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ March 06, 2020

Thanks - he’s had his first week in Manchester and it seemed to go relatively well as far as I know so fingers crossed they’re all like that! :)

Sabrina-Belle Marg ⋅ March 06, 2020

Oh that is good. What a long way to have to travel. I do feel for them.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ March 06, 2020

Yes I do too especially with a newborn in tow - poor Cat has hardly had time to enjoy her new baby with all this going on!

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes March 19, 2020

Congratulations!

I don't even know if I have 17 family members... the holocaust did a number on us. A hundred years ago, my great, grandfather was 1 of 17, but you don't want me to finish that story....

I'm sure much has changed in your world since this post. I hope everyone is well and that you are taking care of yourself.

All the best!

Marg Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ March 19, 2020

Thank you yes we’re all fine so far. With chronic fatigue comes regular enforced isolation so I’m well practised in this! Matt is obviously vulnerable but is in hospital for 6 weeks getting treatment at the moment so hopefully in the best place right now :)

ODSago March 25, 2020

So sorry to read about the poor little guy that has cancer and happy to read about the new baby and to watch the hologram show. Life is darned complicated isn't it? Are you able to hold sessions plus do the paper work now? I read here but the white on black is the hardest type for my eyes to decipher and sometimes I don't have eye power to finish. I try.

Marg ODSago ⋅ March 26, 2020

Oh I’m sorry to hear that - I’d no idea - I think you can change how you view it though in your settings? I had to change it to the white on black for myself as I found it too much of a strain otherwise but I think everyone can personalise their own way of viewing as far as I know. What did the sessions and paperwork refer to? Was it the counselling?

ODSago Marg ⋅ March 27, 2020

When I taught at the university I was given yellow chalk for blackboards and was told that the easiest combination for students with low vision to see, but not to worry concerning my reading. Do what works for you, and I'll read . Oh, that referred to trying to see if you were able to bo back to work, strong enough, etc. In the entry you were trying to sit through the session with a client and then do the paperwork. Were you?

Marg ODSago ⋅ March 27, 2020

Ah - yes I did and it went really well thanks! I was sooooo pleased. Then literally as I came out of the session into the office, the manager was telling everyone they were closing the Agency as of that moment so I just made that with the skin of my teeth!! Shame about the timing but at least I know I’m ready now. They’re talking about offering 30 minute telephone sessions instead of the usual face to face ones so I might offer to do that. You lose a lot doing counselling over the phone but it’s better than nothing :)

ODSago Marg ⋅ March 29, 2020

I'm glad to hear that is an option...I'm sure you are a splendid therapist and it would be a loss if you'd not be able to bring your skills to people in need.

Marg ODSago ⋅ March 29, 2020

Thank you Pat :)

history of love March 28, 2020

I hope everyone is well or as well as can be given how crazy the world is right now. Thinking of you all
xx

Marg history of love ⋅ March 28, 2020

Thank you! Yes Matt is down in Manchester just now for 6 weeks getting treatment and it’s going well from what I hear :)

Jinn March 31, 2020

Glad Matt continues to be stable . What a nightmare that must be for his parents :-(

Marg Jinn ⋅ April 02, 2020

I think he’s getting used to it now - luckily kids of that age adapt really well to changes for the most part :)

Jinn Marg ⋅ April 02, 2020

It’s so sad he has to :-(

Marg Jinn ⋅ April 03, 2020

I know :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.