Change, So Good for the Brain in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 18, 2020, 10:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Another break in the rain. The narcissuses are all blooming and the purple crocus, as well as a few early trees.

After a lifetime of migraines this is the first year ever I am experiencing the specific singular dull ache of sinus headaches. Once I figured out what that feeling was I have been able to do things to make the discomfort go away, nasal lavage, steam, and an antihistamine now and then. It is so great to feel empowered to do something about my seasonal allergies and not have the whole thing slide into a migraine.

Last night, because it was the President’s Day half holiday here and the church was closed I taught my first class at the new rental studio.

The owner contacted me two hours before class was to begin to say that they had a major sewer issue and my students couldn’t use the sinks or the toilets. Eek. There were businesses on the block willing to accommodate anyone that needed facilities so I went ahead with it all.

Much to my astonishment all my regular students showed up for the field trip class. I have the best students. Seriously.

This was all helped by the fact that traffic was light and street parking free.

I was so relieved that it worked out. It is something I have been promising to do since a year ago when I realized the church was closing on holidays that it hadn’t closed on before. Making the arrangements, finding a place, all seemed overwhelming to me all that time with the heart stuff, and the work stuff and…

Personally I like this studio way better than the last one. It is an easy walk for me and it is in what we call our “Old Town” neighborhood. The un-housed, drug addicted and mentally ill folks are encamped nearby but not right there so I won’t need to literally step over anyone nodding off in a drug haze like I had to do sometimes at the old place.

My concerns at this point are the fact that there are a few stairs up, so that makes it problematic for disabled folks and although there might be chairs, there weren’t any visible last night. Although all my students can get down to the floor and back up again, it isn’t easy for a couple of them and chairs or benches for shoe putting on are very helpful.

One of them cleverly made himself a bed of bolsters after class last night to accomplish the task.

It is so good for us to now and then step out of our comfort zones a bit as we age. This is good for the teacher as well as the students. It created a festive field trip atmosphere that I hope I was able to enhance.

Yesterday morning I decided to make a simple bread pudding, a sweet one, that Kes and I made before Christmas. This time I cut the sugar in half and made the bread chunks smaller. Apparently I didn’t let the liquid soak in long enough or didn’t put in enough bread (I did measure) and it came out a bit soupy on the ends.

It still tastes good but it was frustrating. I have another savory one to try next.

But I am excited to be back in the kitchen again, finally after the fall.

Kes is coming up for a visit today. We have an exciting outing planned to Costco. She hates going to Costco so I am her support staff and encouragement.

Diego is curled up next to me here with his paw over his nose. It is cold out but we continue to have a break in the rain. He is doing okay. He throws up pretty much every night, a little hair, a little fluid but otherwise he is healthy and active.

I had eggs and butter out on the counter yesterday. Diego loves butter, not that I have ever given him any but one learns…Nothing wrong with his jumping capabilities even with the one eye. He does, thank goodness, have a tell though…He meeps before he leaps and I can usually get the temptation out of his way in time…


Last updated February 20, 2020


Jinn February 18, 2020

Cats are no respecters of property :-) Mine have ravaged more food items and broken more glass than I can recount :-) To add insult to injury Caleb pees on something about every three months. I get all worked up about it for an hour then I calm down :-) Their ways are mysterious ! If you love them you learn to outwit them or just cope .
Spring must come a little more quickly there than here . No bulbs showing here yet . It’s still quite cold and there is snow .
I am glad your new studio is going to work . It’s nice to have some space between you and the homeless .

noko Jinn ⋅ February 18, 2020 (edited February 18, 2020)

Edited

Yeah, our spring is normally about two months ahead and we have a longer spring than the Midwest and East. And with climate change we get more like California used to be every year. So far no snow that has stayed more than a few hours this year even though it is below freezing here now.

janeanger February 18, 2020

My cat also loves to eat butter!

Marg February 19, 2020 (edited February 19, 2020)

Edited

Meeps - that’s such a good word - and so descriptive!
I’m so glad your first class went so well - I hope the chairs appear for next time :) There are normally a couple of benches at my table tennis group for changing shoes and suchlike but sometimes they haven’t been put out and I really notice it when they aren’t there! I can’t balance well enough to put my trainers on standing up!

noko Marg ⋅ February 19, 2020

Thanks for sharing your experience with me. It may help me get a bench or chairs. :)

Zipster February 19, 2020

I keep reminding myself how good change can be. I remember how the older they got the more resistant to it my folks became and I don't want to go there! I hope Diego's vomit isn't foamy fluid which can indicate kidney issues. For all their sweetness, I find just about anything a cat does forgivable.

noko Zipster ⋅ February 19, 2020

Thanks. The vet did pretty extensive blood work and said his organs all seem to be in good shape. But I am keeping an eye on that. Oh and I agree on the forgivable thing. Even with Sammy who had major anger management issues I always forgave him. It is kind of unfair that as we age and become resistant to change the better it is for us! I can rarely get my students to reorient their mats and the spots in the class they take so the fact that so many showed up for the field trip impressed the heck out of me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.