Angora love in Tales from the Spinning Siren

  • Feb. 18, 2020, 10:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Figure, i best share a few projects with you :)
This is a small 66 yard skein of red satin angora. Its so shiny!! Im not sure what i can do with 66 yards, But ill figure it out haha.
I got a new cool plate to display yarn on for photos too!
alt text

I finished my harli angora shawl. I blended the fibers from an entire litter of satin angoras MINUS the red angora i spun alone. So this is a blend of black chin ( rooster) Ermine ( frost bite) Chocolate agouti, fawn, and chestnut. The creation is a harlequin looking yarn. This shawl is around 300 yards two ply.

alt text

close up of the garter stitch rows at the tail of the shawl.
alt text

It takes time to spin and knit something from my handspun. But its so worth it. I have a finished item that means so much.

Realize that this is a farm to product item. Raised my rabbits till they are ready to harvest their wool. Harvest the wool, prepare the fibers, spin the yarns, wash and dry the yarns knit the items wash and dry the items. Its a process. This shawl took me about 2 weeks to do. Thats not very long! Its somehow more meaningful and deeper then store bought yarns. Although i do enjoy using commercial yarns. LOTS of commercial yarns haha. This way is more meaningful. :)


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.