RAD: The Still-Married Pilot in These Foolish Things

  • Feb. 18, 2020, 4:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Quickie early morning coffee date just for grins…

Name: D.P. (aka Delta Piloit)

Introduction Platform: Hinge

Age: 56

Relationship Status: Going thru divorce. 3 teenage boys!!!

Job: Airline Pilot

Lives: In a city far, far away. Is only here a few times a month

Length of Date: An hour

We Did: We’d originally scheduled a lunch close to my office so I could easily leave and get back to work. He later asked if we could meet before or after my work hours so that he could maybe go for a bike ride around lunchtime as he had to leave at 6pm tonight. Since I don’t get home until around 6, that only left time for an early morning coffee. We met at a Starbucks a few blocks from my apartment (because they are cool with my dog) at 6:30am which meant I could kill two birds with one stone by taking the dog for a walk at 6am before meeting him at the ‘Bucks. He took a scooter over from the hotel where he stays when he’s in town, he bought me a decaf coconut latte and we talked. Nice.

He Looked: He’s very nice looking and extremely laid back. Wore a jacket over jeans and I don’t remember the rest. Had a retractable helmet for when he scooters. For as much as I despise the scooters, I 100% respect that helmet. It was a misty morning so we were both casual.

I Looked: Jeans, boots, my furry jacket…which was a bad choice in the mist, but the weatherman didn’t say ANYTHING about rain! Ugh.

Convo: Pleasant enough. I had a sneaking suspicion that he was still married just by reading his profile. He had also earlier disclosed that he doesn’t live in [my city] and really was just looking for company when he’s in town. It’s understandable. He said he doesn’t necessarily want to just hang with his pilot buddies when he travels and it’s just nice to have some other company during his time off. I told him that I make it a rule not to date married people and that normally I prefer someone who’d been divorced for over a year, but there was something about him and I liked his company and there was really no harm in meeting someone for coffee before work and talking. I rather liked it. I see no romance, but still don’t feel like it was a waste of time to talk with someone new.

High Point: Honestly, it’s been forever since I’ve had a nice convo with someone new. It was great to break out of this rut I’ve been in and get up earlier than normal and hang for a bit.

Low Point: No real low point. No super high point either. Just nice and relaxed.

How It Ended: I had to leave for work so it was a perfect out. He walked me out and we hugged. I went one way and he went the other.

Chances Are: Not for romance, but maybe dinner with a nice person one evening in a couple of months? Maybe not.

Date Rating: C+. “Meh” Plus.


Complicated Disaster February 18, 2020

I like going for dates when I'm travelling. If he's upfront and honest it's all good IMHO. Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ February 18, 2020

Me too!

bobbi01 February 18, 2020

Might be fun to hang out with. Stupid weatherman, ruined many a nice outfit.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ February 18, 2020

Right? I'd hang if nothing better is around.

And I knew better than to wear something REALLY nice. Later, it rained REALLY hard. Weird.

pandora February 22, 2020

I really admire how much you put yourself out there and meet new people!

plushcreep February 22, 2020

He seems fairly "grounded" for a pilot.

Deleted user February 23, 2020

I am biased, as my and my friends' experiences with pilots who claim to be going through divorces are that they are very much married and just looking to have a screw in every port. Your mileage may vary. Oh, and mine was Delta. I figured him out before it got very far.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.