Not Going Anywhere in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 14, 2020, 12:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is winter, it is dark and wet so taking pictures out and about is a bit more of a challenge. This is one of my favorite pictures from a walk during a break in the rain a couple of weeks ago.

I am looking forward to teaching class next Monday in a proper studio, with a proper floor and props. Yes, it is a new environment and yes it is expensive to rent but I would like my students to benefit as much as possible from the time they spend in class.

Yesterday I received an email from a regular student who has been asking me for a daytime class for months and now that I have one set up, she is asking instead if I would teach in a less than perfect room in her apartment/condo complex. I told her I needed to see how the new class goes before I commit to a 4th weekly class in this less than ideal room.

I do understand why she would like to have me teach there. But I want to think carefully about the wear and tear on my body, and the commute time, this place is about 40 minutes away on foot, where as the new studio is just a little over 20 minutes away.

Although I have a general idea of what my Social Security monthly payment will be when I am eligible for my full benefits in July I am not exactly sure. What I know now though is that it looks like if I am careful (and I am) I won’t have to take on any outside work other than the classes I have set up now.

Have I mentioned lately how incredibly grateful I am I don’t have to work anymore?

Yesterday, because I live alone and didn’t have any other commitments I was able to laze around the whole day. I took a couple of naps, I read, I puttered and got my cardio in.

I listen to the news and I honestly don’t know how the people that are currently working in our national government are doing it. I feel so for the folks that had to sit in the east room of the White House and listen to a vindictive miserable weaker than weak failure of a man drunk on power whine about perceived slights with all the difficult issues we are all addressing in our lives here and abroad…I would find that intolerable.

And then I think about all the folks in quarantine, stuck in their homes, not able to get out and move around and having relatives come down with the virus. It is like a very very bad snow day.

And the people giving up everything to flee Syria…

The hiking group went snowshoeing today. I look forward to joining them next season.

I went to the grocery store. The new dermatologist gave me some ideas for some over the counter things I can try to help with a minor issue I am having with my skin problem. I am going to try these things first, a clay mask and a retinol treatment before I go for having her clean it up, which Medicare does not cover. I had a list and found two of the things on it so we’ll see how that goes.

And I made an appointment to get partial highlights and a haircut next week. By then the pink blotches from the liquid nitrogen should be much less visible.

Now all I need to do is align my actual eating with my goals so I can fit into more of my yoga clothes that I already have…

That said, I am going to make a lemon visiting cake today that Kes has made a few times and says is good.

Diego has this new trick; he wraps himself around my neck like a handsome furry scarf and purrs. Hey, at least I can move around a little with him like that.

Kess sent me a Mutt cartoon this morning with a cat sitting on a traditional looking grandmother’s lap and the caption says, “Roses are red, violets are blue, I am not going anywhere and neither are you.”

That about sums Diego up.


Zipster February 14, 2020

YES to you not working! Oh the joy of one's time being one's own. Except for cat scarves, of course.

woman in the moon February 14, 2020

My old old old employer made the dial on the gas regulator in your pic.

Jinn February 18, 2020

I have broken down to weighing myself every morning now to remind myself I do not need dessert every evening :-) or chips in the afternoon :-)
I can not deal with listening to the Donald whine . Go Bernie !

Marg February 19, 2020

Haha I love that!
Your potential student is coming across as a tad selfish here - why can she not try out the new daytime class? Is it too far for her?

noko Marg ⋅ February 19, 2020

I thought it a little selfish too. This is not the first time I have received a request like this. Particularly folks who own condos where there is a common room. They have this fantasy that I would be happy to come to them to make their life easier and less hectic. I much prefer studio work because it helps the student realize that as teachers we aren't a service provider (like grocery delivery) and have expertise. She came to the class Monday, liked the studio and will come she says for the newly scheduled class. So I think we are good. Change is hard for so many of us.

Marg noko ⋅ February 19, 2020

Oh that’s good - I’m glad she came to try it out and liked it :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.