Engage and Then Relax... in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 12, 2020, 8:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Walking over to The Sherlock’s place on Sunday for lunch I had my eye out for signs of spring. It was foggy and cold but later in the afternoon it cleared and although still cold the mountain was visible and gorgeous in all her fresh snow.

We all had a good visit, much better than during the holidays. Mr. Sherlock was feeling a bit better and The Guy Who Lives In His Car was cheerful if looking a bit frail. Considering what he has been through and the fact that it is winter this is totally understandable. He and Mr. Sherlock are getting along well and that helps Mrs. Sherlock feel a little better about all the things she is involved in outside the house.

And Frida! She was all over me; we had a good visit. And can I just say as a close friend with a black standard poodle, congratulations to her sister Siba and her win at Westminster. Even with the ridiculous grooming at the dog show their sisterhood is evident. Awww. Frida does get groomed but it is so much more modest.

We talked a lot about poetry and read things out loud to each other.

And because Mrs. Sherlock was done with dark dark movies she picked a movie out from last year with Christopher Plummer (who is 90!) called Boundaries. It was quirky, goofy, the guys liked it and it had all kinds of adorable scruffy dogs (and a few cats) in it. We think it may have been Peter Fonda’s last movie.

The temperature dropped a lot here over the last few days and the young sexton at the church didn’t get the timing right on turning on the heat in the older part of the church and my students were cold in class. We started the practice out in chairs and as I looked around the room all the female students had blankets wrapped around them.

It makes me slightly crazy to offer classes in a room where I can’t control the heat and the lighting is quite problematic, even if it is free. I talked to a more responsible sexton after class and then saw him yesterday morning (he lives in my building) and we talked about heavy curtains (the room has big windows out onto a courtyard) but it is frustrating.

Yesterday I went and took a look at the studio I am renting for next Monday, President’s Day, where the church is closed. It is closer to me, about 10 minutes, it is right smack in front of a light rail stop and it is warm and one can control the lighting and has props.

It is in an old building, has beautiful floors and exposed brick. If you knew me you would say this place looks like me. No windows and no mirrors, all good for creating a safe non-judgmental atmosphere.

It is also $15 more a class session than the previous studio. So I am taking a financial flier on this. There is no way I am going to make the money invested back for the Monday class but I also made arrangements to start teaching a Tuesday morning class starting in May that is not associated with the church.

This feels like a whole new phase in my teaching. Stepping it up a notch. Eek.

Mrs. Sherlock is leading a group hike this morning up in her area of town. I am tempted to go but this foggy damp cold seems intimidating even though it is supposed to stay dry today. My hips and glutes were very stiff and sore yesterday. I can’t tell what part of that is what I am teaching and what part is having my pelvis stabilize and return to normal after the fall.

I am teaching tonight so I do have that on the agenda.

Otherwise I think I am going to have a quiet contemplative day here in the neighborhood. I sent off my last tax form yesterday and am hugely relieved to have all my taxes done now for last year, both personal and business.

My goal here is to create a matrix of activities that each touch some on the things I love so much, writing, reading, yoga, cooking, bird watching and hiking and fit in the things I don’t love so much…cleaning and organizing and downsizing and democratic activism.

I am so grateful to have the freedom to engage in all of them and then to relax and just have fun.

And who doesn’t need to have fun now that we are living in a crazy out of control may the best man (they are all men) lose monarchy?


Last updated February 12, 2020


noko February 12, 2020

Well people do cook birds. 🙂 I will change it to bird watching.

Etaine February 12, 2020

What a wonderful full life you have. Your creativity speaks to me. Here in North Texas there are a few signs that spring is coming

Jinn February 18, 2020

I can’t wait to find something budding !

Marg February 19, 2020

It’s so lovely to see you being able to indulge in all these wonderful activities and have the time to do so - and you made me realise that’s how I’m living my life too, albeit compromised!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.