The Leading Edge in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 9, 2020, 10:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ms. Fit had Mrs. Sherlock over Thursday morning to go over “proper” weight training form. As she has been fit and active her whole life I don’t think she is aware of where Mrs. Sherlock’s limitations are and when I met Frida and Mrs. Sherlock on Friday morning for a (unusual these days private) hike she was way sore.

Early yesterday morning she texted to say she needed to bail on the weight lifting class we had planned for the day.

We walked the river loop, something we haven’t done in a long time. It was great midmorning on a weekday, cool but dry and a little windy. As we were coming down the ramp off the Hawthorne Bridge on the east side I noticed these trees and was ooooh we have to go over there and take pictures.

Frida was rowdy with pent up energy and so getting a group of good pictures was difficult. We ran her is a gravel field nearby after the attempt.

The thing is…the trees are not real. They are art installations and their purpose is to light up. We had the Winter Festival of Lights over the last three nights and as we continued on our way we came upon a number more interesting installations on both sides of the river. It is all a truly cool community thing, free and kid friendly.

I was sad to say I was too tired to go see everything in the dark last night. It was dry and the moon was full. I did see the moon set between the branches of winter trees this morning though.

Those branches won’t be bare long. The daffodils are opening, the wild quince is starting to bloom and the Daphne is flowering up a fragrant storm.

I was okay to pass on the weight lifting class. As I fully recover from the fall I have days where my back is talking to me. Yesterday was one of those.

I found a yoga studio that will rent me space for both a daytime class and the days (like President’s Day) that the church is closed. It is more expensive than the last studio space I rented and I am taking a risk here but I think it may pay off. I sure hope these folks are less flaky than the folks from the last two studios I rented from.

This space is a straight shot down from where I teach now so in the same general area and there is ample public transportation so I won’t have the long hike over to the east side I had before.

I hope to get all the paperwork done this next week so I can start marketing the daytime class.

Diego is throwing up again. I swear I am going to need to implement a puke spreadsheet to keep track of all this. He is not sick. It is some sort of super sensitive the stars need to be in alignment thing. I am not even going to consider getting my rugs replaced until we can try to get a handle on this.

After days of doing little pieces of organizing I managed to get my taxes filed yesterday. We have a deduction here in the U.S. when you turn 65 and I had forgotten about that but it made a huge difference filing for last year where I only worked 10 months.

I have one local business form left to file and then I am done!

Other than cleaning and getting the new studio relationship operational the next thing on my agenda is my hair. Growing out a pixie cut as an older woman is not for wimps. I can at least finally get it in a messy high ponytail so some progress is being made.

The hair thing and the healing pink blotches on my face thing make me want to hide but oh well. Making a difference in this world doesn’t always depend on how we look.


Etaine February 11, 2020

You make a difference for sure. I love your last line that making a difference doesn’t depend on how we look. That spoke to my heart.
Hope Diego’s tummy settles down. With all our pets, I haven’t had carpet for about 20 years.

Marg February 19, 2020

I wish you all the best of luck with the new studio - hope it pays off!
Poor Mrs. Sherlock though - sounds like she’s overstretching herself. And poor Diego (and also you for having to clean it up!) - my Bailey can’t eat anything different without throwing up and occasionally still does it on his boring dry food as well :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.