Homemade meatballs and marinara in Tales from the kitchen witch

  • Feb. 7, 2020, 5:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So i was having a hard time thinking of dinner and turned on a cooking show. Which lead me to making my own meatballs!! Ive never done this before haha So this is my first time! Of course i used my lovely instant pot :D Never leave home without it. Did i tell you i got the 10qt? Well I did. It makes my 8 qt look like a baby. I have the 8 now for side dishes and extras.

Anyway on to the meatballs!
First up remember we cook for 14. So scale your recipe as needed! I used 8 lbs hamburger ( from my fresh cow stash!! Seriously buy a cow people. Its SO good! And way cheaper for beef then at the store! )
8 lbs burger,
6 eggs
8 slices toast ( crumbled for bread crumbs.)
Seasonings.
Basil.
Oregano.
Parsley
Thyme
Sage
Italian seasoning blend ( extra!!
Garlic

So mix all your ingredients in a bowl. You gotta hand mix. No way you are getting away from this haha. Roll each ball into 1 to 1.5 inch round balls. I did this with a kid to help me go faster.

alt text

Heat a large frying pan with oil. You want enough to cover the bottom, Sprinkle garlic in the pot! Once its hot, place meatballs in the pan. USE TONGS!
You are going to fry the meatballs in the oil until each side is browned. I think it took me about an hour to mix and fry all the meatballs. But i made a TON. I would say it takes 15 or so minutes per panload of balls. These are NOT cooked through for the most part. They are fried on the outside.
alt text

alt text

Once all the balls are fried. Load them into the instant pot ( or slow cooker would work) Place a trivet in the bottom of the pan first. Put all your balls in, Pour marinara over the sauce Or veggie loaded sketti sauce works too.

Instant pot cook for 20 minutes or slow cook till the balls are finished! Serve over pasta. It was easy enough an 8 year old could do it. It just never occurred to me ot make my own balls!

I also made a pan of oven baked because i ran out of space in my IP. I placed the balls in a foil lined pan with some oil in the bottom. And baked at 350 till cooked through. The kids wanted some plain meatballs without sauce.


Deleted user February 07, 2020

now I'm hungry

ChainedChrysalis Deleted user ⋅ February 07, 2020

Make meatballs? lol!

Jinn February 15, 2020

I buy meatballs too but I am sure homemade is better !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.