greetings from BedlamVille in shiny things

  • March 18, 2014, 3:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It's that time again. Graduation application time. In which we send out emails to approximately 394,032 students who have applied to graduate in May letting them know they are missing all manner of requirements --- and then the screeching and wailing begins!! "Nobody toooooold me!!! I didn't knoooooooow!!!!" and they blame us and they blame their advisors and they weep and wail and threaten as I sit here gazing at the audits we sent them last semester that outlined exactly what it is that they are now missing because they never did do it.

Well, I do exaggerate of course. It's more like 300 and a whole lot more of them are all set to graduate than aren't. It's the "aren'ts" that are killing us. Especially me. Mr. Organized got called up for jury duty, and I'm actually feeling very envious. Because he's not here!!

This is my excuse for totally neglecting PB. We've been working on applications for a solid month, and it is grueling and I am keeling over by the end of the day and too brain-dead to read or write or do much other than drink beer and watch TV. (We're finally watching Breaking Bad!! I LOVE it!!!)

The good thing is that we've got the first round of them done and the emails sent-- the emails that either say "Congratulations!!" or "You're not graduating, loooooooser!". The next round is not so urgent because that bunch has applied late. Not that "applying late" has any meaning at all. The deadline was February 14. The next week we got 45 more. And each week after that we've gotten at least 20 more. It's the usual deadline. You better not miss it!!! But if you do, hey, there are no repercussions whatsoever!! I am good with sending their emails whenever I get around to it, though. Take that, late applicant!!

So I've been in a mad whirl of emails and phonecalls and students coming by and parents calling because their little darlings are on the Chancellors List and could not possibly be short 6 hours of electives to meet the minimum number of hours they have to have to graduate.... apparently being on the Chancellors List does not require the ability to add, or to read and comprehend since we sent her an audit saying she had to have six hours of electives for the minimum last semester. SIGH.

At least I have had some Aggravation Receptionist amusement today. She needed to request a file from the Records Center, which is where Baker B works and where files get sent after a certain time to await destruction. She comes in my office and asks if Baker B's phone number has changed. I say, no, it's the same number it's always been.

"I keep calling it, but a machine answers! It sounds like your husband's voice, though!"

"........." "................." "........................ummmm, that's the... answering machine, AR. You just need to.... leave a message."

She did at least add that she'd tried and it kept cutting her off, but.... but... wouldn't you just say their answering machine didn't seem to be working?!? Not marvel about how a mysterious machine voice that might be my husband kept answering when she called??? I often leave messages on that machine, incidentally, and have never had it cut me off. I wish I could recreate the dippy blank gaze along with the conversation.

alt text

Fortunately for AR she is prettier than Homer, but the stare is very similar.

And now it's back to the grueling grind for me.


noko March 18, 2014

You are braver than I for trying Breaking Bad. I know I would like it. I guess I am saving it up for when (if ever I actually get a proper boyfriend and we are) nesting and need something to watch.

It must be kind of nice to be in a state of not getting common sense things now and then. The world would be a baffling and distracting place but then someone would fix things for you!

edna million noko ⋅ March 18, 2014

It's taken us forever to check out Breaking Bad, despite all the people I know who LOVE it. I was kind of leery about a show staring meth-makers (we have a serious meth problem here, especially in the more rural parts of the county...although someone found a meth lab recently in the woods like two miles from here) but..... okay, I loved Dexter beyond all reason and he's.... a serial killer. Breaking Bad is really well written and the acting is fantastic as is the storyline. But it is quite intense and alarming. We're still on the first season.

Deleted user March 18, 2014

I see this issue from both sides I guess having a kid currently in college where he never sees the same advisor twice and each one tells him something different. They also never send us anything in the mail except the bills. Higher education these days is primarily business and the students sometimes don't get much for the money they pay . But I agree that if your students are warned way in advance that they lack credits then it's their responsibility to go in and straighten it out before the semester . Good thing you really do have a lot of patience or else you would not be able to work there.

edna million Deleted user ⋅ March 18, 2014

Oh, there is definitely a problem with advising, for sure. And I have total sympathy for the ones who really do get bad advising. But they also have checksheets available all over the place, and now this nifty new program where they can see exactly how all their credits are counting and what they're missing. I find most of the time when something is missing, it was something they've known about for ages but apparently assumed would just go away - or it would get taken care of magically by someone else.

This time of the year it's the problem children who are driving me around the bend -- I need to focus on the ones who are responsible and are getting everything done. And there are lots of those -- they just get overshadowed!

Spinster March 18, 2014

I would not be able to talk to the parents without making some sort of dig about the student having their mommy or daddy call.

edna million Spinster ⋅ March 18, 2014

Oh, you can NOT imagine how hard that is. Really really really hard. And we DO say things like, "Your son needs to contact his advisor" or Your daughter has to talk to the Gen Ed department" .... we so try to emphasize how, ummmmm, THE KID NEEDS TO GROW UP.

It's very funny how many parents will say, "oh, I KNOW my son should be calling... but, he's SO BUSY and he is doing this and that and I'm just trying to help!!!" Like, they know it's terrible. Yet they do it anyway.

PepperGrape March 18, 2014

My idiot son almost missed the application for graduation deadline because he wouldn't listen to me that hey! You actually have to APPLY!!!! and never did it till the last possible second. Ugh. Luckily, he got the, "You are set to graduate provided you pass your classes" email so I think we're good. Still, some kids. I tell you what....

edna million PepperGrape ⋅ March 18, 2014

Yes, sounds like he's fine if he got the "!!!set to graduate!!" letter - good boy! Our deadline means exactly nothing, and I bet his is the same. We have students who walk across the stage in the graduation ceremony and leave town and start wondering months later why they never got their diploma....

Lyn March 18, 2014

This is the part of the year where you more than earn your pay.

Shall I send a case of wine?

edna million Lyn ⋅ March 18, 2014

Oh, yes! Please!!!! I just half-heard something on NPR today about a place that serves wine milkshakes. That might be even better.

Going Gentle Into That Good Ni March 19, 2014

SMH as usual at the parents who are responsible for engendering these irresponsible little-kids-in-big-bodies by never making them accountable for anything in their lives.

Did laugh about Aggravation Receptionist, though. Please tell me she's not blond. ;-)

Good thoughts for you getting through this quickly and getting back to a more sane and normal pace.

edna million Going Gentle Into That Good Ni ⋅ March 21, 2014

She is not blonde!!! Fortunately.

FallingDog March 19, 2014

I envy you the ability to watch Breaking Bad, which I've yet to see, since it would require fast internet to stream Netflix. Fat internet. It's it even real?

edna million FallingDog ⋅ March 21, 2014

Ours streams surprisingly well- and this is a fairly new thing; in the past our streaming has not been all that great. We have Evil Charter and they do keep upping their internet speeds. We're actually about to drop TV completely and just stream stuff. And get DVDs. We're watching Breaking Bad mostly on DVD but streaming whenever we haven't managed to get our acts together to get the next disc in time.

FallingDog March 19, 2014

Fat internet. Hahaha! Swype sucks.

Clanky March 19, 2014

Oh, that time of year again!

And you crack me up.

Marg March 21, 2014

Don't you just want to slap that AR around the head?

Justlovely April 01, 2014

ugh! Goodness!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.