Royal Babies And Universal Promise in Breathing Lessons

  • July 23, 2013, 4:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

While I'm working here at home, the television is on, tuned to one of those cable news channels. Lately I've opted for music to play in the background while I am working, but today, for some odd reason I haven't figured out yet, I've got the television on and consequently one of those cable news channels, because when it's just on for background noise, cable news is the default choice, as it were.

I mention this because about twenty minutes ago I heard that the "Royal Couple" have had an 8 pound, 6 ounce baby boy. The new royal addition arrived into this life about four hours ago, at least that's what they're saying.

It's going to be a wild night in Great Britain tonight...

Mind you, I am not one of those people who makes it a point to follow the doings of the royal British family, or Kate and William's latest doings. It's not my cup of tea, if you will. I just can't get into that stuff. I mean no disrespect to them, and in fact I congratulate them on the birth of yet another royal, but hey, wasn't the point of the American revolution in part an effort to be rid of royalty and its influence on us?

I know, I'm in the minority on this one, and that's okay. If you want to drink in all the details of the British royal family, more power to you. It's harmless, after all, and I'm sure it wil keep you off the streets and out of trouble, and no matter how you look at it, anything that keeps someone off the streets and out of trouble is a good thing, isn't it?

And besides, babies, whether they are royal or commoner, are rather cute. Sure, they smell rather funky sometimes, but that's not their fault; they're babies, and don't know any better than have that smell and the mess that accompanies it until such time as someone gets up the nerve to approach the infant and change its diaper.

I like babies. I like hearing them coo, and even cry. It's a new life making itself known in the world, taking its place among us vocally, and new life is a promise for a bright future and the potential for a more enlightened, and better world. I know that's being rather optimistic, but optimism isn't as naive as some people tend to portray it; optimism is about hope, and considering the state the world is in these days (and has been forever, for that matter.) hope is something we need to hang onto, and make real around us through our deeds and words. Babies are about hope, and hope calls us to make life better, not just for ourselves, but for everyone.

That said, I am no Pollyanna by any means. I have a pessimistic streak. I often have a tendency to look to the darker side of things; it's part of my nature. I suffer from clinical depression, and sometimes it's a devastating depression I suffer. I take pills for it, and see a professional counselor to help deal with it when the pills are not enough, which in my opinion, pills never are. That darkness of thought tempers my sense of optimism, and prevents me from avoiding reality as it is. I know what's real; I know what's possible and impossible. I know what's reasonable to expect and what things I should just let go because there's no way they'll come to pass in the world.

Even so, impossible things should be attempted, because you never know; some seemingly impossible things manage not to be so difficult to achieve after all. Humans don't always know the difference between the impossible and the achievable. We're rather funny that way.

So there's a new baby in the world. It's a new life, and new life, no matter where it comes from, is precious and to be respected and looked after fervently. For me, watching Britain's royalty rush to announce the good news of the arrival of a new royal child, I find an example of the joy of new life everywhere and anywhere, regardless of its perceived importance to the world. I'm looking at televised hope, light, and possibility, and while I'm not big on following the lives of these royals, I regard the birth as a good thing, and a good thing should not be ignored. All life is precious and important. How cool is that?


Lyn July 23, 2013

Love the last paragraph.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm August 01, 2013

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm August 01, 2013

no you are not in the minority about the royal baby. if i never heard about him again, i'd be happy. glad he's healthy and momma and daddy are doing well, but i've heard more than i want to hear. now, let the little guy grow up and be as normal a child as he can be... being the future king i don't think normal will be the way his life goes. take care,

MJ's Page August 09, 2013

You are not alone. It's a baby. WTG! Best meme was a picture Prince William with a caption that read: MY PENIS WORKS! CELEBRATE, PEASANTS!

Honestly! I gave birth to FOUR (count 'em) children, and I survived. Where the hell is MY freaking parade?! I want to know!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.