Star Trek: Picard [no spoilers] in Space Skeleton FROM SPACE

  • Jan. 31, 2020, 12:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I liked the first episode of Picard. I thought it was fun, with flaws. Wasn’t over enamoured by the J J Abrams lens flare all over the place but I thought it had promise.

Right now as I type this, I’m at the start of episode 2. The word “shit” has been used twice and the word “fuckers” has been used once. I’m deeply uncomfortable with this; that, as far as I’m concerned, is not what Trek is. Now, I know some people might bring up Discovery as a precedent, but fuck that because A) I only saw two episodes of Discovery, and B) Discovery was shit. “But dude, you’re swearing now yourself!” Yes? And? I’m a fan of TinTin, and if TinTin started calling Captain Haddock a cunt, I’d feel much the same way.

Star Trek isn’t meant to be edgy - don’t try and make it edgy. As a kid growing up, a fairly skinny nerdy kid at that, Star Trek TNG, DS9 and Voyager, the adventures of the various crews as they try to explore and bring peaceful resolutions to the problems of the galaxy, spoke to me on a personal level, and did so throughout most of my life. I guess, however, that this is how things are now, and I guess Star Trek isn’t for me anymore.

Still, I’ll keep watching Picard. It’s not a terrible show, I like it a lot. I’m just disappointed that it’st taken this edgy “fuck Batman” direction. Not everything needs to be grim-dark.

EDIT

My fucking TV just crashed! My TV! CRASHED! Clearly, F-bombs are detrimental to my telly’s health.


Last updated January 31, 2020


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.