Red and White in God, With Skin On

  • Jan. 30, 2020, 7:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Dogmatic goes back to the Greek word dogma, which means basically “what one thinks is true” and dogmatikos, “pertaining to doctrine.” To be dogmatic is to follow a doctrine relating to morals and faith, a set of beliefs that is passed down and never questioned.
So here is where it gets to be fun. I have friends with several different religious beliefs than mine. Does that mean we can’t get along? Not as long as they agree that I am always right..LOL. First and foremost I am not God so I don’t get to judge you. And that is a good thing.
The problem I have is when a church or denomination becomes so Dogmatic that they do more harm than good. I can say this because I used to be a minister in one of the mainstream denominations. And I saw a lot of this type of unbiblical teaching. I could list so many that you’d most likely go to sleep reading it, so I will just pick one or two.
Salvation, let’s start there. You have to shake the minister’s hand and sign the church membership roll. Or you have to come to an altar and cry real tears or you are not saved. Do you see where I am going with this? Romans 10:9 “If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” WAIT A MINUTE. What about tithe, church attendance, doing good deeds, loving one another? Those are not requirements to be saved those are signs you have been saved.
Let’s jump into the Thou Shalt Nots. You can not be a Christian or a member of this denomination if you use tobacco or partake in Alcohol of any kind. So the next time you get a cold or the flu, stay away from the NYQUIL. It has more alcohol per volume than a mixed drink. And for the life of me, I can’t find anything in the Bible that states, Thou Shalt Not Smoke. Oh, it’s implied in I Thessalonians 5:22? Not even if you have a wide interpretation of the passage. But yet, there are those churches and denominations that preach it to be a sin.
We will be so Dogmatic that we turn others away from the Hope we so boldly proclaim is the answer. I fear what God will say to some of those folks on judgment day. We are warned not to take away from or add to the Word of God.
Have a great day, I have to go check in with God and see how many points I get for this post…LOL


crystal butterfly January 30, 2020

My church women's ministry made a cookbook. One of our leaders informed us that we would not take recipes that had alcohol in it. I'm sure she meant the wonderful rum cake or the Southern Comfort cake. However, I loved that lady that asked if we had to remove all the vanilla from the recipes. Confused the person saying no alcohol. She was inform that real vanilla is made from vodka and vanilla beans. We got to keep the vanilla.

Douglas Kinney crystal butterfly ⋅ February 03, 2020

And that is my whole point. I just shake my head and laugh. Thanks for your comment and the lovely story.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.