Setting Up For Failure in God, With Skin On

  • Jan. 29, 2020, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Facebook is from the devil! Just like Tupperware. Studies have shown that people who do not have a Facebook account are happier. The reason? I am glad you ask. (You did ask didn’t you?) Facebook reminds us of what we don’t have. We compare our lives to our friends on Facebook.
Success is measured by how much money, what size house, the type of car you have. And your relationship status is one of the first things that separates the have from the have nots. And it is those things that make people unhappy. They measure their success against their Facebook friends. How many of us really have 50 friends? Maybe acquaintances, or distant relatives, but 50 friends. Guess because I went to school or worked with you doesn’t automatically make you a friend. That designation is reserved for a select few.
By comparing ourselves to others we are setting ourselves up for failure. Keeping up with the Jones is detrimental to your health and well being, not to mention your pocketbook.
And some are so addicted if they post something and no one likes or comments they get upset. Grow up, people.
Now excuse me I must go post on Facebook what I ate for breakfast and that I have a normal bowel movement! (too much information?)


.Bleu 🦋 Fleurs. January 29, 2020 (edited January 29, 2020)

Edited

I got rid of my Facebook almost a year ago and never looked back. I had quit for 9 months before but came back. Why? Because I was so drunk one night and signed up because I was curious.. And stayed on for almost a year until this last time I quit. Since then, I swore off FB for good and I wont go back, because Ive realized that the people I truly used to talk to; I have all their phone numbers and can just text and call them if I want to talk. Also, my immediate family no longer goes on FB anymore(the people I can call, etc.) Facebook has nothing for me that I cant get from some other site that I trust just a bit more. Also, FB makes it impossible to want to go back to it because they instantly want your phone number or you cant join... Yea, no thanks. So I'm pretty much done with it. The next guilty pleasure is instagram. i like taking pictures sometimes so if I could find a community where I can share my pictures without wanting my info, thatd be greaat! :)

And as far as YouTube, even though they have this weird algorithm that nobody understands, I kinda dont mind youtube, just because theres so much Ive learned from there and I get to follow peoples stories of their interesting lives when they post videos.... And I can post videos.. I'm really not one of those people that watch the trending videos or popular youtubers. I could care less. In fact, the youtubers I watch are barely popular with sometimes only a couple thousand fans... I think if you got good content, people will find you. You dont have to make millions of views a day like Jake Paul ot whoever is on the top trending list...

As far as happiness goes, FB didnt give me a whole lot of it after a while. I had been on FB for 10 years or so in this hate/love relationship with it. Towards the end I was not happy because well, nobody said anything and I wouldnt dare express myself about anything in a post or someone would be mad or offended or think I was depressed. So like I said, theres no reason for me to have one... And I like it that way. Also FB doesnt seem that attractive to join anyway just from reading all the news revealing how corrupt they are. I

Ive realized making better life decisions makes me happier.. Not social media.

Douglas Kinney .Bleu 🦋 Fleurs. ⋅ January 30, 2020

Youtube has a great purpose. I have learned so much from viewing how-to videos. But of course, as with any media platform, there are always going to be some idiots you have to filter out.
Thanks for your comment.

Firebabe January 29, 2020

I kind of disagree with this assessment. If your unhappiness stems from comparing yourself to others, then that has to to with an issue with your psyche, and removing yourself from Facebook is unlikely to change anything. Facebook is merely a channel for comparison, it's not the actual problem. I can walk around my neighborhood and compare myself to the other people in it. I can sit in a restaurant and compare myself to the people in it. If someone has a deep-seated need to compare themselves to outward status symbols (e.g. money, cars, jobs, partners, etc.) then they can do that without ever sitting down in front of a computer.

People bag hard on social media channels because of the negativity they can perpetuate, but my response to a lot of the naysayers is--why do you have negative people in your circle then? Why aren't you curating your lists of friends and followers so that you don't have feeds cluttered up with racist, sexist, political garbage that doesn't align with your personal values? People bitch about social media but then surround themselves with people who perpetuate it and then stand around scratching their heads, wondering why there's so much negativity. Gee, I wonder. :D

If people don't want negativity then they should curate their friends and followers. Don't surround yourself with negative people and then bitch that Facebook, or Instagram, or SnapChat, or [insert social media here] is a terrible place. These are all just channels that WE have control over. It's up to us to set up our spaces that we want to share in. :)

Douglas Kinney Firebabe ⋅ January 30, 2020

I tend to agree with you. Facebook much like our personal lives can be controlled. I just found the report interesting. Of course, it may have been sponsored by MYSPACE. LOL.
Thanks for your comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.