Things I learned In School in Life After 60

  • Jan. 27, 2020, 9:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is a very shortlist! School was a social event. I would never use much of what I was being taught. Math, okay I needed it, but Trigonometry, Algebra and the rest, I would never use. A total waste of my time. English, yeah, poor grammar and usage are frowned upon by the masses. But I didn’t care about history, geography, science or having to take Psychology and Sociology in College.
Of course, at 18-21 I knew it all. Flash forward 43 and I am once again studying things I thought I wouldn’t need. I am the Communication/Public Affairs Officer for the United States Coast Guard Auxillary. I never dreamed I would have to learn so much stuff. But one thing that has helped me was the one thing I was taught way back in elementary school.
We had weekly spelling test. If you missed a word you have to write it 5 times. Unless you were really sadistic and loved to write you would study. I have a 115 question test coming up and I took the self-practice test. I missed 24 questions, meaning I scored 91 out of 115 which is 79%. All I Need to pass the test is 75%. But I am not happy so I will now write out the questions 5 times. It’s positive reinforcement that back in elementary school I thought was punishment, that I now find myself needing. My teachers would be shocked if not proud.
Now how do I tie five pencils together so I can write all the sentences at once? I didn’t say I didn’t learn not to cheat…LOL
Have A Great Day!


woman in the moon January 27, 2020

Alt C
Alt V
times 5.
I was actually going to Alt C, Alt V - twice? Three times with a back space to get rid of the extra one.
Or one Alt C and four Alt Vs.
Damn I'm tired.

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ January 28, 2020

Now that is funny!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.