Packing Light in Getting my feet wet. Jumping in

Revised: 01/26/2020 5:33 p.m.

  • Jan. 26, 2020, midnight
  • |
  • Public

“All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go....”
Well, the bags are still in storage. But I have little piles of clothes and things here and there that are ready to go into a suitcase. I’m going to Sedona for a week. Hubby asked me what I was going to do not painting for a whole week? It had not even crossed my mind that I would leave painting supplies home. So there is a painting pile with just the essentials. I’ve researched that there is an art supply store in the area. Looking at the website, I can’t determine if it really is. There is a a Jerry’s Artarama outside of Phoenix which is 2 hours away, so if I have a painting supply emergency that could be do-able. And then Amazon Prime does go to Sedona. Now that I have figured that out, I’ve been able to decrease that pile by a little. I really don’t have to pack that much because there is a washer and dryer on the premises.
A little over a year ago, one of the FB groups I belong to published a book of poetry. We have book 2 at the publishers. I am honored that on both books I painted the cover. We have decided to meet up this week in Sedona. We are planning a side trip to the Grand Canyon.
I’m so excited about this trip! Several of us are texting back and forth like teenaged girls. This is the longest trip that I have taken since the 90’s. I’ve taken 2 5-day trips and several 3-4 day trips in the last few years. It will be the longest I’ve been away from Phil and my fur babies.

As I was painting this picture last summer, this poem came to me…I’m hoping it comes through. I’m having difficulty inserting photos in my entries.

alt text
Baggage

It just took a moment in time
To collect items now past their prime
Things you won’t let go of
Even though you have had enough of
Maybe it’s anger or un-forgiveness,
It could be fear or bitterness.
You’ve packed them away in a safe place
Carry them around from place to place.
All the hurts and damage
Stored them in another piece of baggage.
The weight of it is a burden
You may not realize it, but it is certain.
When you carry around wounds of the past
You see things cloudy and overcast.
Carrying old luggage is an oppressive drag,
Especially when you don’t unpack any bags.
You have permission to lay them down
You don’t have to carry them around.
Release and let go of who you were
Take a breath and set yourself see
The shinning star you really are.


Last updated January 26, 2020


Purple Dawn January 27, 2020

I have a hard time putting pictures on here too. I can't enlarge yours on my laptop so will just ask what medium you're using to paint in?

Etaine Purple Dawn ⋅ January 27, 2020

Hi I paint in watercolor I like other mediums, but keep going back to watercolor because I can leave the painting for a few minutes or a few hours and the paint isn't ruined

Jinn January 27, 2020

Lovely poem and picture ! Have a wonderful, safe time ! Tell us all about it !

Etaine Jinn ⋅ January 28, 2020

Thanks Jinn. I will. I’m sure you will probably be able to read the details. Hopefully not be boring.

Jinn Etaine ⋅ January 28, 2020

Sedona ? Boring ? And your book getting published ? That is exciting !

noko January 28, 2020

Enjoy your getaway! It sounds like just the right kind of adventure.

Etaine noko ⋅ February 04, 2020

It was in many aspects a pilgrimage. I loved it.

NorthernSeeker January 29, 2020

omg...Sedona is one of the great destinations for artists! Enjoy. I do mixed media art.

ODSago February 02, 2020

Jinn suggested I'd enjoy "knowing" you and I can see she is right. Gosh! I loved my one trip to Sedona with my husband...I thought if I ever ran away from home to await to being found it would either be to Paris or Sedona! Welcome to prose box. Write often, please.

Etaine ODSago ⋅ February 04, 2020

Thank you. I’ve written a couple entries. Will try to post soon

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.