Why Etaine? You ask.... in Getting my feet wet. Jumping in

Revised: 01/24/2020 4:58 p.m.

  • Jan. 23, 2020, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good question.. Etaine is the name of our alpha dog. Taken to a dog park, you call Etaine and no other dog has that name. This is a 9 year old bossy Australian Cattle Dog (blue heeler). Hubby and I have often thought it would be a pain to be one of her cattle, always being told what to do. Hubby named her Etaine, in one reference he discovered that Etaine was the Celtic goddess of butterflies and bright and shiny things. She’s not an affectionate canine as our other dogs, but she is protective of what she considers to be her territory. She can be pretty insistent when she thinks it is time for you to go to bed and doesn’t like you to sleep in. Nothing slows her down. Several years ago, she tore her ACL and we had to keep her sedated for 6 weeks during recovery period.
A few months ago, hubby and I were going out to eat. As we were leaving the neighborhood, we passed a house with smoke billowing in the backyard, from a gas grill in flames. We called 9-1-1 and waited for the fire department. When the firemen arrived, the friendly Irish Setter wanted to help. Hubby and I stayed with the dog, the name tag said “Keith”. As we were driving away, Hubby asked, “Who would name a dog ‘Keith’? Right, from a man who names his dog Etaine.
alt text


Last updated January 27, 2020


Jinn January 24, 2020

Interesting ! Australian cattle dogs are so smart ! We have two teacup poodles ; Peach and Paris . They are super tiny and old :-( and a pitbull ; Moxie . She is nine but still very strong and active . Moxie belonged to our youngest son , Blake , who moved to Nevada and could not take her with him.

Etaine Jinn ⋅ January 25, 2020

My stepdad has a pit. She is a sweetheart. She is a rescue and he takes her everywhere. She has a service dog vest.
Understand when your son leaves and can’t take their dog. When my son went off to college, Dakota (his dog) became my dog.
I bet your little babies are adorable

Jinn Etaine ⋅ January 25, 2020

Thanks, they are a handful but kind of fill the void , because our youngest son is so far away and our oldest is still at home , but between work and his social life ; is rarely home :-) We have always had a lot of pets. I spent most of my childhood on a farm and my husband always claims I am trying to recreate it in the city or have my own zoo :-)

Jinn January 24, 2020 (edited January 24, 2020)

Edited

So interesting how we pick our pet’s names ; Peach ; because she is apricot colored . Paris ; because of a book I read set in Paris . Moxie was severely ill when my son adopted her and our vet said, “ This pup is going to need a lot of moxie to make it “ and she did , so we named her; Moxie .

Etaine Jinn ⋅ January 25, 2020

Pet names are interesting. Love why Moxie was named Moxie.

Marg January 26, 2020

Hi Etaine! And welcome to Prosebox! I love your explanation of your name and chuckled at your hubby :)

Etaine Marg ⋅ January 26, 2020

Thank you Marg. I’m enjoying ProseBox. Still learning about it.

Marg Etaine ⋅ January 26, 2020

It’s a good place to be :)

Purple Dawn January 26, 2020

We've had blue heelers in the past, farm dogs to work with cattle. They like to nip and tell everyone what to do. I've always enjoyed them and they are full of energy! The ones we had were a bit rough with cattle at times so once they were gone to the happy herding ground in the sky we switched to border collies. Now there isn't a dog on the farm, we get to chase stock!!

Etaine Purple Dawn ⋅ January 26, 2020

Blue heelers do love to herd cattle While I love her, I don’t think we will get another one, unless one drops in our lap. Then of course, we would have another bossy dog.

Ferret Mom January 26, 2020

My brother has two dogs that are Australian cattle mixes.

Etaine Ferret Mom ⋅ January 26, 2020

I bet they keep him busy. But since they have each other they might give him a break

noko January 28, 2020

One of my best friends is a black standard poodle named Frida. I currently live with two cats, brothers. Diego came with his name and it suits hime perfectly, they are rescues, and the other is Carlo because of his patrician nose. People get a little confused between the Mexican and the Italian but it works for us. My Prosebox name Noko is from a beloved Norwegian Forest Cat of the same name that adopted me a number of years back. Thanks for sharing about your dogs.

Etaine noko ⋅ February 04, 2020

Thank you for reading my rambling and look forward in getting to you.

NorthernSeeker January 29, 2020

My 20 year old cat is named Fergus.

Etaine NorthernSeeker ⋅ February 04, 2020

Love love love the name

ODSago February 02, 2020

No pets, now; they were part of my childhood and marriage with children eras however and much enjoyed. I like hearing about others pets, however.

Etaine ODSago ⋅ February 04, 2020

I’ve been away from them for a week. At the airport to head home to them and hubby

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.