Going to the dogs in 2020

  • Jan. 24, 2020, 12:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It seems my life is mostly about dogs these days.

Having a better day with puppy, though I just found poop under the dining room table again. Argh! Overall the training treats seem to be helping though. We just need her to get a little bigger and the other dogs will show her how to use the dog door. She’s already interested in it, she just isn’t big enough to push through the flaps yet.

Speaking of dogs, I emailed the foster agency this morning to see if there was any news about our boxer foster being reunited with her family. They replied that they actually haven’t been able to contact her owner since the holidays, and they’ve notified her emergency contacts that if they don’t hear from her by Feb. 1 they will have to consider the dog abandoned and put her up for adoption.

I got sad for a minute because (1) I really wanted this to end with a happy reunification and (2) I didn’t think Rob would want to adopt her because he prefers to only have two pets and we just adopted the puppy, but when I passed the message on to Rob he said he’d actually like to keep her. She really is a great dog, a little more vocal than we’d like but very sweet and great with the puppy and our old Dane too.

I’m not going to say anything to the kids as we won’t know for sure for another week, but I did let the foster place know we are interested and they agreed that they would give us right of first refusal to adopt her if she is abandoned.

In other news, it’s been raining for two days and my back yard is an enormous mud puddle. Need to go clean the kitchen floor.


Deleted user January 24, 2020

We are also up to our ankles in mud. Hopefully the sun comes soon.

aglow January 24, 2020

!!!!!!! Keeping ALL my fingers crossed that your boxer foster winds up getting to have you as his forever family!

Honor January 25, 2020

Aww, failed fosters make my heart happy. I’m sure she’d love to be officially part of your family. I...it sounds wrong, but I hope she gets abandoned? Well, I do. Cause your family would give her such an awesome life!

Calicakes January 30, 2020

Why did her family put her in foster care?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.