A Story to Remember in QUOTIDIEN

  • Sept. 7, 2013, 9:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The teacher - civilian or nun, I can't recall, introduced us to a little boy named Diamond who lived 'At the Back of the North Wind' (by George MacDonald).

I remember gazing unseeingly out the window, as she read well from this captivating tale - a few chapters every other day, as we rested quietly at our desks. There was no test on this, to my recollection. No questions to answer other than those to gauge our collective understanding of some of the more subtle, or intricately woven words.

I fell in love with the North Wind, and at the thought that one could be carried away from one's life on something as intangible as the wind. It wasn't until years later that I realized my habit of disappearing into the chapters of a book probably stems from the moment my teacher read, "I have been asked to tell you about the back of the north wind."

I just downloaded a free copy to my Kindle and am anxious to get started, and to see if AM will react as I did....even if I was younger.


NorthernSeeker September 07, 2013

I hope AM loves it too.

Noodlebugs! October 25, 2013

I think we have listened to this on tape in the car with the kids.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.