You Win Some, You loose Some in God, With Skin On

  • Jan. 22, 2020, 10:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I hate to lose. Show me someone who is a good loser and I will show you a loser. But I digress. I got a call this morning that I was afraid of was coming yet hoped I was wrong. Cancer once again is going to win and I am angry about it.
I have spent hours praying that God would spare this person. I have begged and pleaded but to no avail. Once again the cards were stacked against me and the person. Why do I take it so hard? I am a cancer survivor so I know God can, and if ever a person deserved to have a second chance, this dear lady does.
Are my prayers wasted when I know that no one has survived this type of cancer? Is this a cancer that is even too difficult for God? I pray with the person for God to heal them, and I believe He can but He chooses not to. That is a part of faith that I do not understand. And this cancer is spreading fast.


woman in the moon January 22, 2020

  1. God created cancer. (what was he thinking?)
  2. I had more to say, but I lost it. Let me think a little more.
  3. Prayer is an act of the will.... like love. We decide to love. We decide to pray. Both love and prayer are so open to interpretation, that they mean close to nothing.
  4. If we believe in prayer, in a relationship with God that we can influence in any way, how do we account for every football game having a loser (forget about ties), for a good number of marriages going awry, for ALL OF US dying, many after various length and intensities of suffering?
  5. God is a joke. To a great degree we invented him.... certainly we invented our relationships with him.
  6. God is also good, great, the perfect non-creature - he made himself. He gives us the unbelievable gift and beauty of life...… and all we have to pay is suffering and death. Good deal, huh?

There. Hate me. I deserve it.

ps. I had a boss once who credited his and his wife's recovery from medical ills to prayer. I never believed him. He was an awful man who never thought of anyone but himself. He and his wife are both dead now.

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ January 23, 2020

Do I laugh or cry? I don't expect everyone to agree with my rants, that what makes us all human, our opinions differ and I respect that. Now to the fun part,
1. Those are fighting words to some Christians...God created Cancer. Have you lost your mind? But I am not one of them. I believe God created it all. As to what He was thinking, God only knows! PUN INTENDED.
2. I am sorry but I can't wait for you to collect your thoughts, I am trying to sleep. LOL
3. I may have to get back with you on that one. Prayer is an act of the will? I think more of an act of Faith, but I have been wrong before. Just not often. At least when I pray I tell people I am talking to God, not my self.
4. You bring out a question that I have long wondered myself. Not the football teams, We all know that at one time God was a Dallas Cowboys Fan, and recently until this year a Patriots Fan...UGH.
There are just as many, if not more divorces among professing Christians than not. Why? Somebody isn't living up to the Biblical Standards, but that's my opinion. As for the suffering part, I blame it all on the original sin and the curse.
5. I will have to strongly disagree on this one completely, but that is my prerogative.
6. You lost me on the non-creature, but that could be legit, He is non human. He does indeed give us the unbelievable gift and beauty of life. We just sometimes tend to screw it up.

I do not hate you, and no, you don't deserve it.

woman in the moon Douglas Kinney ⋅ January 23, 2020

  1. etc. A creature is something created by God. Right? So God him/it/whoever self was not created by God so is a non-creature. I thought it made sense --- to me. We are certainly free to have our own opinions. Thanks for letting me think these things.
ODSago January 22, 2020

I understand that life is a lonely and weary journey when people know the results they need are out of their hands and I believe that the myths about God and gods were brought into being to give believers hope that there is something beyond. A lot of the time, that works. Hope exists, people calm down and do what is always needed, love deeply, stand stead and firm with, and just open yourself to pain and in the longer picture, deep joy and appreciation that the person you lost or saved existed at all and chose you as their friend or lover or family favorite. I'm so sorry for your dear one's news and the consternation it will bring to all who value her.

Douglas Kinney ODSago ⋅ January 23, 2020

Thanks for your comments. Sometimes my Faith and my Realistic Views clash with each other.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.