Blurry vision, not rude vision in Testing.... testing... 1, 2, 3...

  • March 17, 2014, 12:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My wife and I needed a break this weekend. A break from the rough times at work (my job sucks ass right now, she was just transferred to the new office where it's nonstop work), from selling/renting our condo, from the never ending job of parenting, haha. So we had one of my old college buddies babysit for us while we went out for dinner/drinks

Our old favorite watering hole in downtown Houston introduced us to their "Dos Rita" years ago. It's a big frozen margarita with a Dos Equis beer in its bottle flipped upside down into it. So you would drink damn good margarita, then when there's room in the margarita cup, you lift the beer up and fill it up with beer. We went there a lot when living in Midtown for happy hour! It's our drink of choice

At least until Sunday. We went to a cajun place my old boss (whom I really miss dearly now, haha) referred us to. He's from Lousiana himself, so that's pretty good credentials for someone to say this is the best cajun food in Houston, haha. I looked online at their menu and I saw their drink options

They had a half-margarita, half-hurricane drink with an upside Lousiana beer in it. Oh yeah! My wife and I were immediately drawn to it. We love cajun food (we visit New Orleans frequently), love hurricanes, love beer ritas, so this sounds perfect!

And it was, we each had two of them. For the first time in years, the beer rita has competition for my drink of choice when on a night out, haha

Afterwards, my wife wanted to walk around the shopping center across the parking lot and shop. Shopping always made her unwind before, now shopping without the kid is perfection to her!

So we did, I was drunk and not fully functioning correctly, haha. My balance was off and my vision was hard to keep focused. Which sucked when we got in line to for checking out at a clothing store

I was blankly staring off in the distance, and I notice this one lady looking back at me. I had this dumb look on my face while staring blankly, such a dumb yet happy look, haha. But she was staring at me, so I tried to focus my blurry vision on her. I noticed something was off, maybe there was a sign in front of her or a color in the background that, with my blurry vision, meshed with her face

When I did finally get my eyes focus, I saw that nope, the discoloring was strictly on her face. She had a growth on one side of her face, or it was burnt. It seems maybe her face got burnt. It was disfigured but kind of swelling out, and had purple colorings

So in my head I'm thinking, "Whoa, that sucks if she had her face burnt". And then I thought, "Whoa, she thinks I'm staring at her face!", haha. I mean I was at that point, but not originally! I was staring off into nothingness because I'm a goofy drunk, haha. And she was staring a hole into me, that's what caught my attention

So I avoided eye contact with her the rest of the wait in line. But I watched other people in line first notice and steal glances at her whenever they can. Poor lady, I bet she gets that everywhere she goes

moral of the story: If you look deep into someone's eyes, you can peer into their soul. In that situation, my soul would be blank yet content. Her soul seemed furious :P

Have a Nice Day!


Deleted user March 17, 2014

I pictured the scene from Beer Fest when the guy gets so wasted and he's picturing himself all suave. That's you LOL

Foley is Good! Deleted user ⋅ March 17, 2014

In a slightly related side note, have you seen '500 Days of Summer'? There's a scene where the guy goes to his ex-gf's party. They do a split screen, the left side is his optomistic expectations of the party and how he and the ex will get along great and rekindle their romance and have a great time. The right side is what is actually happening in reality

I pictured that scene when you mentioned this scene, haha. I'm just a big fan of that scene because it's so true!

Have a Nice Day!

Deleted user Foley is Good! ⋅ March 17, 2014

Yes, unfortunately I do remember. I really hate that movie. It angers me LOL

Foley is Good! Deleted user ⋅ March 17, 2014

Haha, we're opposites here because my wife and I love that movie! We love that it's different and has a realistic view on relationships and not the usual rom com formulaic approach.

Maybe also because we've spent too much time with friends crying over a breakup where it's obvious the other didn't want they wanted, haha. Reality vs hopeless romanticism!

Have a Nice Day!

Deleted user Foley is Good! ⋅ March 17, 2014

It just made me super angry how she treated him. Guess I'm old fashioned. Or weird.

Foley is Good! Deleted user ⋅ March 18, 2014

Probably old-fashioned that in rom coms, love wins. However, she clearly stated her views against love before they dated. He's the hopeless romantic that believed he could change her. That's never a good idea in reality! Don't hope people change. If someone lays the ground rules (like they're not looking for something serious), don't be upset if you got serious and they didn't

I think it's a classic example of many failed relationships: one's love for the other is not matched

Have a Nice Day!

Deleted user Foley is Good! ⋅ March 18, 2014

I like to think that people only date when they are looking into being in a serious relationship and not because they're looking for putang (or in her case, wing wang).

Foley is Good! Deleted user ⋅ March 18, 2014

Haha, that would be ideal, but it's not how the dating world works. Some people just don't want to be married, but everyone needs a companion at times. Humans are not one of the species who only mate with one partner for life :P

Have a Nice Day!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.