Telling other people what to do (Things I hate about Christianity pt1) in Musings

  • Jan. 13, 2020, 4:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

On my last entry I got a rude message from a Christian who told me everything I was saying was wrong. And told me what I should and shouldn’t be believing or saying. I replied kindly but firmly and then they messaged back an even ruder reply. After that I blocked the person. I’m fine with a healthy conversation and I think it’s important but when someone comes out of the gate telling me what I should and shouldn’t do regarding a religion I don’t believe in anymore. Well you can go ahead and miss me with that bullshit.

The interaction really got me thinking about the things I dislike about (most!) Christians and the way they approach things. So I think I’m going to just start a little series of entries on here about what I hate about Christianity. (I recognize that not all of these will apply to everyone and once again I’m fine with a healthy debate but if you’re going to leave a disrespectful comment I ain’t got time for it.)

Today in things I hate about Christianity: The belief that they should tell everyone what to do.

This is a huge one. For me it began as a questioning of why the hell Christians were so intimidated by gay marriage that they feel the need to pass laws about it. This has never made any sense to me though I regrettably went along with it for years. And I realize now there are a lot of ways Christians do this.

Abortion is another one. I have to admit this is one I have a hard time coming around to after been indoctrinated to believe that abortion is murder. But now I can see that everyone should be given the choice. Other people choosing something that you wouldn’t choose yourself does not have anything to do with you. That’s what it all comes down to.

If you’re reading this and you’re a Christian and you want a ban on gay marriage and abortion please ask yourself why? What does it have to do with your beliefs? Why does this intimidate you?

It goes right back to evangelizing in the first place. In the last church I went to every Sunday morning they asked us to raise our hand if we had shared the gospel with anyone that week. Now, you should have a right to be able to share it with whoever you want. That’s fine. But it’s the shoving it down others throats. Making it a part of politics. Thinking it should be a part of schools. That’s where I have a problem.

In essence, believe what you want to believe and what feels right to you. But don’t think you have any sort of right to tell someone else how they should live their lives. If you don’t believe in gay marriage don’t marry a gay. If you don’t believe in abortion then don’t have one. If someone says they aren’t interested in coming to church or believing what you believe—respect that.

I’m so happy to not have the expectation that I should be spreading the gospel hanging over me. I’m happy to not be constantly exposed to people who bemoan that the “society we live in today is terrible because people men are marrying men and women are killing their own babies”

(Once again don’t get me wrong. I know a lot of really wonderful loving Christians who don’t believe this way so just know that this is based on things I’ve experienced and not meant as a knock to you if you’re a Christian)


Deleted user January 22, 2020

As a Christian, this annoys me as well. I'm guilty of it, and I apologize ahead of time if I'm pushy! I very much try not to be. XD

Side note: I do not support gay marriage or abortion, but I know many do so I don't bring it up unless I'm asked. I also want to add that just because I do not support those choices doesn't mean I'm a dick to people who apply them. I'm polite and friendly to the LGBTQ community as I am any other human being. I sympathize with any woman or man who has been affected by abortion. But, like I said, I get what you're saying and the pushiness is too much sometimes.

bouchie January 22, 2020

Omfg, all of this, yes. Uh huh. Entirely. I can’t even talk to most people about these things because it is infuriating and disappointing. I feel like where I live in am a closeted non religious person, though I do tell people I’m not probably within 5 minutes of having a social conversation with them. Getting it out of the way from the get go, plus healthy resting bitch face help to discourage the conversion conversations.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.