Ears lowered in What's Happening

  • Jan. 11, 2020, noon
  • |
  • Public

When I was scheduling my hair cut appointment the girl asked me what time I wanted to come in. I asked her what times were available and she said “9:00am.” I suspected there was probably moret times available, but she was just too lazy to read the rest of them.

I could have said “Are there any other times available?”

I didn’t though because I liked the thought of getting my haircut out of the way early. When I woke up to the sound of my phone alarm this morning, I slightly regretted this decision.

It seems like the girl who cuts my hair is always experiencing some major life problems. Every time I go there she tells me about a new problem that is more elaborate and more serious than the last one. It’s such a downer.

Whenever someone has a problem in life that they want to talk about I usually don’t mind listening. If I start to notice a trend that all their problems are from them making poor life-decisions over and over again then I tend to lose interest. I don’t know how to help these people.

During my haircut I was really engaged with the conversation at the beginning, but towards the end I couldn’t even force myself to listen.


I don’t have anything planned this weekend. It’s super nice outside today. When it’s nice outside you would ideally spend time outside enjoying it, but when it’s the middle of the winter and it’s nice outside it doesn’t feel right.


Last updated January 11, 2020


VioletJoker January 11, 2020

As a stylist, I’m usually the one listening to client problems, lol. I’ve been told from several clients that their last stylist would spill their problems and “bitch” the entire time they did their hair, so they left. 🤷‍♀️

music & dogs & wine January 11, 2020

I always make early appts to get my car serviced and then I hate myself when I have to wake up to go, lol.

Aren't hairstylists supposed to listen to us bitch and not the other way around?

I too, have no patience for people that complain about the same shit over and over. It gets tiring.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.