About-Face in God, With Skin On

  • Jan. 10, 2020, 10:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Christians can be some of the most hateful, judgemental, single-minded creatures on earth. Bet that got your attention, but it is true. The holier than thou mentality is not biblical. Paul in Romans 12:3 wrote “God has given me a special gift. That is why I have something to say to everyone among you. Do not think that you are better than you are. You must see yourself as you really are. Decide what you are by the amount of faith God has given you.”
So many times we skip past the middle of the verse, but that is where we need to concentrate our minds. I grew up in a very restrictive mainline denomination. Everything was a sin, from our music to our hair, to our past times. THOU SHALT NOT became the motto. Basically, if it felt good and you enjoyed it, then it was probably a sin.
It took me years to remove the cataracts from my spiritual eyes. But once I did and started studying the Bible for myself, I developed a better understanding of what the Bible said on some of those subjects. I had to not just see my self as I was, I had to understand why I was. Simply telling me I was wrong didn’t work.
My belief system changed. I questioned the faith of my youth. Some things didn’t add up. If my denomination said one thing but another denomination said the opposite, who was right. How could I be friends with someone who didn’t believe like me? After all, I had to be right, my denomination told me I was.
Until I stepped back and looked at it with the eyes and compassion of our loving Father. I don’t have all the answers but some of the things Christians are so dogmatic about are more about man’s laws than Biblical truths. I may not agree with you, but I will defend your right to disagree.
Have A Great Day


fuschiaeastwood January 10, 2020

Love this! [saw you on the front page]

Douglas Kinney fuschiaeastwood ⋅ January 13, 2020

On Front Page? I better watch my p's and q's. Thanks for your comment.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.