Volunteer in Life After 60

  • Jan. 9, 2020, 9:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was never one who wanted to volunteer for anything. My time was more valuable to me. I was not about to give it away, freely. Of course, when I was younger I had a wife and family to spend time with. I had friends to keep me entertained. Nowadays, not so much.
While I am approaching retirement age, I know the reality is, I can’t retire. No retirement fund, no nest egg, and on SS I would starve. Okay maybe not starve but my income would be cut by 2/3 rds.
But I have found I have too much free time. So I decided to do something with that time. Write songs and join the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary. Mind you I have never been in any type of structured organization except my High School Band. This is a whole different life for me.
Rules, regulations, training, security clearances and military protocol. I realize that we are not a combat-ready group, but we follow the same protocol. It gives me a much greater appreciation for those who serve in the Armed Services. Just to get through their basic training they are stronger than any group of people I know.
Let me encourage you, volunteer for something. And if you are interested, The United States Coast Guard Auxiliary might be a good place to start. They most likely have a flotilla near you.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.