I am deaf and proud in Be careful what you think because your thought control your life

  • March 16, 2014, 1:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes I sit here and wonder why do things have to be this way? Why do people have to be cruel and stupid at the same time? I know it has something to do with being educated. This morning I showed my children a video " Waiting for the world to change" In ASL. They were floored.
I realized I have never really talk about my deafness and the struggle with anyone, not even the children. I've been shielding them from all the negative. I protected them from certain people, certain places. It is crazy to think about that. I remember the first time I sign up on OpenDiary. I wrote about being a mother for the first time. How happy I was, and how young but I was very responsible. Someone wrote back and said I shouldn't be a mother because I am deaf. Deaf people don't belong on this planet. I was beyond pissed, and hurt. I couldn't believe the length people could go. Growing up were difficult, I struggle through trying to find my identify, trying to find who I am and where do I belong. I tried so hard to fit in, went through speech sessions so I could sound "NORMAL" it is pretty funny just to think about the things I tried to do to please people. Today, I don't give a flying fuck. I am pretty proud of who I am, who I have become. Now I have two DEAF children. I praise them, encourage them, fought for their deafness. I educated people .
I am proud to say my children have the best of both worlds. They are exposed to hearing world and deaf world. Lexi is really good at lip reading, and she have so many hearing friends. I sit back and watch her interact with them, teaching them signs while they teach her how to speak. Lexi struggle a little, I could tell. I think she wish she could "hear" and at the same time, being proud she is deaf. When we run into deaf people that we don't know or hearing people that could sign.. Lexi were so interested in getting to know them. She love when people know ASL. her smile get so big and she would sit there and listen and ask questions. Which is one of the reasons why I decide to host an deaf/hearing gatherings here at my house. Mykl is very very PROUD. If someone come up to him and start talking ( like at Meijer for one) and he would point to his ear and say "Dont work, I cant understand you" and start smiling. He is so much like my dad, very proud and not afraid to show the world. He would try to do body language so the hearing get comfortable with him, and then Mykl will show the signs. My children are very different, but similar... if that make any sense.

I am deaf and proud.


little red haired girl March 16, 2014

Bless your heart. Its a shame that people have to show their ass and be rude to you and your kids when they don't even have the slightest clue as to what you are going through. I once had a friend who was deaf and he was so awesome and unique in his own way. Its a shame I had to move away because I have lost contact with him. But hey if you ever need somebody to talk to I'm here. :) I'm still fairly new to this website and only have one friend on here. I wouldn't mind keeping in touch with you if you don't mind. Stay strong not only for yourself but for your children as well.

Mercurial Muse March 16, 2014

It blows my mind that people think Deaf people shouldn't have children. That would have never even occurred to me.

Hotaru March 16, 2014

Wow. I wish I could say that I can't believe people would say things like that. Stay true to who you are, no one else matters.

Myklexi March 19, 2014

I think every one of us suffer a little, or experience loneliness in one point in our life. I always struggle .. My mom is hearing, and is an interpreter. My dad is Deaf. My house is always full of people. I feel more comfortable around people that use ASL over anyone that speak. :) Where are you from?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.