The Epiphany in Life After 60

  • Jan. 7, 2020, 4:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

An intuitive grasp of reality through something (such as an event) usually simple and striking, that is the definition of Epiphany. And I understand it so much better now. (Okay, I understand the definition maybe my newfound grasp of reality doesn’t measure up!)
I was thinking last night about how hard it is to date at my age. I didn’t have a lot of dates when I was single, but there were different from what they are now. And it hit me, like a Mac Truck at 70 MPH. It is easier to date when you are young because I was an IDIOT! I was more interested in having a good time, enjoying life, and the carefree lifestyle that I didn’t understand what dating really was. It was a prelude to marriage. And at 21 I had no idea what that entailed.
Now, fast forward 40 years, I understand that the reason dating is so hard at 61 is I know what to watch out for. At 21 I wanted a wife, at 61 I want a life-partner, a best friend, someone who shares some of the same likes but also challenges me with things I never thought of.
I found out like a lot of other people, that common interest, kids, and mortgage are not enough to keep a marriage alive. I need someone to offset my weaknesses. A best friend who knows all my faults but loves me anyway. Someone who can accept me as I am and not want to change me. So perhaps I should just get a cat? That way if it doesn’t work out I can gift it to a cat lover! With age comes wisdom, and arthritis.
Have A Great Day!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.