When You Least Expect It in God, With Skin On

  • Jan. 7, 2020, 3:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Somedays God likes to just show off! (Okay, that’s JMO) I am reminded of an episode from M.A.S.H where Father John P. Mulcahy felt like he wasn’t doing anyone any good. Ah, been there done that. And it is at those moments God likes to prove us wrong.
I am not a negative person, but I am a realist, and I know some days I lose the battle. The answer to prayer is either a resounding NO or deafening silence. To be truthful I am not sure which is worse. And for a few months, I have been where Father Mulchay was.
I took a 5-week hiatus from the pulpit. I needed to know if I had reached that place in life where it was time to let go and just walk away. Watching so many people suffer from cancer in the last two months has been depressing.
But today, God sent someone to me to remind me I can still do some good. One of our coaches who I only see maybe twice a year at a meal dropped in today. All I know about him is he is a nice guy and a coach. So while I am working on a printer problem he said, “I heard you are a preacher.” I laughed and said, “Yes, but don’t hold it against me.” Then he started asking me about different scriptures. And for 15 minutes God reminded me, he is still not finished with me. You see, God showed up with skin on in the form of a coach.


crystal butterfly January 08, 2020

God does have a way of letting us know that he is not done with us. Glad he had the coach remind you of that.

Douglas Kinney crystal butterfly ⋅ January 08, 2020

Yeah, for some reason I haven't completed whatever it is I am here for. 7 years ago I had two heart attacks within 6 days of each other, 4 years ago I was diagnosed with Lymphoma, and this past July I was bitten by a small spider and landed in the hospital for 8 days and off work for 2 months to recover. And now the heart is acting up again. To say I am on borrowed time would be an understatement.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.