Okay Friday, bring it on! in All kinds of nonsense spewing forth

  • Sept. 6, 2013, 8:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Fridays in a day care center are always crazy. If I'm not chasing people for money, I'm trying to calm down kids who know that the next day is "cartoon Saturday"

Today was crazier than normal.....the staff was looking for trouble....believe me, they found it.

I am a good boss, a fair boss and there is nothing that needs to be done that I haven't done....and am always willing to do.

A few teachers decided that they were upset because they are not getting a full 40 hour week....they thought it was a good idea to confront me about it.

I however, did not think it was a good idea.

Here is why.....every single August, our enrollment drops. Lots of kids leave for first grade.

Instead of firing a full time employee, I try to send people home an hour early everyday. It doesn't quite add up to a lot of hours, but it keeps payroll down a bit until more kids are enrolled.

See, here I am, worried about them and they revolt!

So, after they had their say, I pulled the time cards for the last month and looked them over.

Yeah, one teacher had taken off 3 days in one week...hence, only 24 hours worked, 24 hours that you got paid for. Another teacher had taken off 2 1/2 days....so, she didn't have 40 hours either and the third one needed to leave early 3 days in a row.

What is the problem here staff?

I called them in one at a time and explained that if they wanted to be paid for 40 hours, perhaps they should think about working 40 hours! I also explained to them that they walked into my center looking for a job, I did not go to them, so, if they were unhappy, please have the common courtesy to give me a two week notice. E two of them came back in a while later and apologized. It seems that the third one was a huge instigator .

Sometimes, being a boss is exhausting.

Okay, on to other things.

I am spending some time with my mom tomorrow. She had knee replacement surgery 7 weeks ago and although she is healing well, she is still a wee bit afraid to do a lot of walking by herself. We will be going to the grocery store...not really exciting, but we make everything a party!

Hubby has to work tomorrow...I am sad about that. He is a long distance truck driver and has not been around a lot this week. I am missing him like crazy! He needs to leave a little bit after midnight so he was in bed before I even got home from work. All three of the darlings are out and I am sitting here, all alone...which is actually okay since I don't have a lot of alone time.

I am not totally alone, the cat is sitting on my lap. Yes, we have a cat. He is my daughters cat that she got her sophmore year of college. Now, he lives with us. His name is Banana Hammock....yup, really.

A funny Banana story....when he was a wee little kitten, my daughter brought him home with her for her thanksgiving break. He arrived at the house at 5:30 in the evening, the Tuesday before Thanksgiving. I got home from work at 6:30....we had dinner and I went outside to throw out some garbage. And not knowing proper kitten rules, I walked back in, stepped on the cat who was hovering by the open door, fell and broke my foot....in two places....

Yup, I am that joke....I slipped on a banana and broke my foot!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.