My 1976 Christmas Present. in The Reselling Life

  • Dec. 27, 2019, 6:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So we tend to thrift everything recently. Clothes, house goods, furniture. So we always occasionally would stop into Habitat for Humanity - they recently moved to a nicer, bigger building so we’ve been going almost weekly since then.

We got Juliet’s desk there and two weeks ago, Bobby bought Dakota a desk there as well.

Yesterday, we started out errands off there to see what they had since they get new stuff in all the time. They also have a discount system - if it’s been there a week it’s 25% off, two weeks 50%, and then three weeks 75%.

Bobby found a floral couch there a few weeks ago and it was at 50%, but once he got closer to it and smelled it he said there was definitely an odor. No thanks. (Backstory: We bought a new couch/love seat/recliner set from Lowe’s almost two years ago and it is complete shit. The support beams have broken, rips, everyone hates it so we’ve been in the market for a new one. )

Anyways. So yesterday I walk in and immediately spot this AMAZING retro vintage long couch. I see the price is $60 so I’m like eh..but kept coming back to it. Then I realized it was 25% off and that sealed the deal although we delegated over it and inspected it CLOSLEY for a good 15 minutes. It felt like…a big commitment? Which is weird, but I knew in the back of my mind that I would be thinking about this couch constantly if I didn’t bring it home.

So we did!!
alt text

It is in such beautiful condition. Like no tears, stains, or smells. Bobby definitely gave it a good disinfecting before bringing it in just to be safe.
alt text

alt text

He even found the original receipt which I’m saving because it makes it that much cooler. The original purchase date is 1976!
alt text

It’s amazeballs. I don’t think everyone appreciates it as much as I do, and that’s okay! I am in love with it and that’s what matters.

Even two years ago when I started this venture, I never really knew it would help me find SO many things I’m passionate for. Most of them vintage - but I’ve found and learned about so many things that I never even knew about. Two years ago I would have walked by that couch and never thought twice about it. Now, I just want to find more pieces to add.

Have I mentioned I love my job??


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.