Profile pictures - bigger and more square in Site Updates

  • March 14, 2014, 10:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

OK, I think people will like my latest site update more than the last one. This one also falls into the "fun" category (hey, I think the new editor is ridiculously fun) - but it also paves the way towards future awesomeness.

On most pages, your profile icon will remain the same size, only square with rounded corners (yes, it's Pi Day and I like being contrary). Thought I'd try that out. But here's the super cool part: on your profile and book pages, that icon is now four times larger! Which means, if you're upset because you finally perfected your round icon, and now I've gone and changed the shape - well, now is a great time to either upload your icon again or pick a new one, so the higher resolution can kick in.

Here's mine, for example.

This is a first step towards better profile features - I want to add a popup that magnifies the user's icon and gives some basic profile info when you hover over the icon. It will be SWEET. :)


OneSassyLadyNKY March 14, 2014

We're not worthy of your awesomeness!

Deleted user March 14, 2014

No more disco ball? I was hoping it would be a sparkly gif at some point.

Square is kind of awesome and I love the rounded edges.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ March 14, 2014

That would be pretty cool... a sparkly disco ball animated gif. :)

auburn_girl March 14, 2014

And happy Steak and BJ Day to you too, sir! Or Pi Day. Whichever you're in the mood for.

Jane Says March 14, 2014

COOKIES

Deleted user Jane Says ⋅ March 15, 2014

Pusheen!

Life Is For Living March 15, 2014

SQUARE!

Deleted user March 15, 2014

mmm cookies...

:)

Cat Mommy March 15, 2014

Nifty! I likey. My old smiley avatars are a bit angry at you because I've dumped them but they'll just have to deal with it! LOL!

Deleted user March 15, 2014

I personally really dislike it. I'd like a square, or a circle. not a squircle.

that's just my opinion though.

Leanne 🌈 March 15, 2014

Cool :)

themoodyone March 15, 2014

Damn. And I just made a circular profile picture.

BentnotBroken March 15, 2014

Thank you,Sensi. You are both wise and good smelling. :-)

Pretty Fly Jedi March 15, 2014

Whyyyyyyyy does it always upload me sideways!?! -weeps dramatically-

simple mind Pretty Fly Jedi ⋅ March 15, 2014

That means that you're viewing your photos in a program that knows how to rotate them correctly, the the actual file itself is sideways. If you use a program that can rotate the image and save it correctly before uploading (like MS Paint for example), you'll be OK.

Pretty Fly Jedi simple mind ⋅ March 15, 2014

I'm mobile. It is sitting rotated the right way in my gallery. It did this last time but I don't remember how it eventually sorted itself. I'll keep tinkering. :)

Pretty Fly Jedi simple mind ⋅ March 15, 2014

Ok. I tried from my gallery, my dropbox and from picsart. The file is rotated properly but I keep ending up sideways. I'll have to try from a computer.

Deleted user Pretty Fly Jedi ⋅ March 15, 2014

Take a picture sideways and maybe it will be upright?

Loki Pretty Fly Jedi ⋅ March 15, 2014

  • that is SO annoying. That happens sometimes when I make pics for Twitter. It keeps taking them sideways for some reason then I have to take the picture upside down and it turns out the right way. . . Silly technology ._.
Pretty Fly Jedi simple mind ⋅ March 15, 2014

I can't reply to the comments under me. I'm confuddled because I've rotated it every way. It is i n mygalkery properly. I guess I could screenshot it and see if that helps.

Thanks!

Pretty Fly Jedi simple mind ⋅ March 17, 2014

Taking a screenshot worked. Then using photsquarer work.

I am not sure why the original files upload sideways. It happened on several I tried even tho they were all properly oriented.

Someone suggested it is the operating system on my phone.

If it matters I am using an Android on 4.0.4 It doesn't play well with the new editor either after about the first 5-10 lines written.

I think most of it is older smartphone operating system issues.

crystal butterfly March 15, 2014

Wouldn't accept a new version of what I have or any other file I picked so I guess I'll just stay the same.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm March 15, 2014

had to change my profile photo cause it didn't look good anymore with the change but, that's okay. my dog is a perfect profile photo for me. the first one wasn't all that good anyway. take care,

The Enabler March 15, 2014

Hooray!

Loki March 15, 2014

  • THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! I love this. I just noticed this as I went to change my DP and saw it was bigger! [dances♥] Also, thanks for making me crave chocolate chip cookies! -cry cry-. Keep up the great work =]
Hello, Darling. March 15, 2014

Could we have a feature where we can find different users? Like a random entry feature? I am always looking for new people to read, but refreshing the homepage gets a little redundant :)

Thank you for creating this site!

Cat Mommy Hello, Darling. ⋅ March 15, 2014

It's on the list. We'll have something eventually.

HarleyBabe March 15, 2014

Sweet, now if someone would create some layouts where those of us that have visual impairments could see the color and fonts without it straining our eyes. Examples: Black background with white text or White background with black text. I use the steel colored one, it's the closest I could find, but still kind of sucks for me personally. Sigh.

MissMeg March 15, 2014

YESSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MageB March 16, 2014

Now,....

Halcyon March 16, 2014

Yay!

Deleted user March 16, 2014

I like the sound of that...

synapse March 16, 2014

Not bad.

Deleted user March 17, 2014

Thank you! More room for my beak.

HalloweenValentine March 17, 2014

I'm not sure if its due to the larger icon, but now my user name is cut off on my profile page...?

Deleted user March 18, 2014

I love that the back/next nav buttons are now on the top of the page in browser view. Thank you! (It might be even nicer if they didn't take up so much room. Maybe you could take them out of the panel and make them smaller?)

Deleted user March 19, 2014

Hiya, I have a question about editing. I accidentally left an entry on draft before I published the one after it. As it's a sequential trip report, I would really like them to be in order. Is there any way to swap Day 2 and Day 3 on my report over so they are in the right order in my book?

H. Majesty T. Mudfish Queen March 19, 2014

YOU MY DEAR MAN ARE AMAZING! THANK YOUUUUUUUUUUUU.

YOU are my joy for my joy list today. Go read it if you want to. If ya don't then just know you made my day.

Thank you.

Milkwood March 22, 2014

I love the gently rounded squares! Thank you for doing this! Puts the box in prosebox! So much better for pictures too!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.