The power of crass capitalism in Space Skeleton FROM SPACE

  • Dec. 21, 2019, 9:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Something has been brought to my attention that nearly broke me. The sportswear company Puma has invented what they are referring to as “active gaming footwear”. It is, as I’m sure you can guess, a shoe for gamers. Now before you sigh, roll your eyes, and click away, allow me to assure you that I’m being 100% deadly serious. I’m not sure if Puma are.

Here it is, by the way: alt text

According to the site: “Created with console gamers in mind, the gaming sock is the first edition Active Gaming Footwear.” Why PC gamers are excluded from this is somewhat of a mystery, given that as far as I’m aware people have feet that touch the floor regardless of platform of choice, but ignoring that for a second, Puma continue: “Designed for indoor and in-arena use, it delivers seamless comfort, support and grip so gamers can adapt to different active gaming modes and game their best.”

Have I been gaming wrong the last 30 years? My feet aren’t active at all when I’m gaming. I don’t need any form of grip, and my slippers are plenty comfy enough.

By the way, these things cost eighty fucking quid. They must think we are fucking idiots. But this is merely the latest in a long line of what is apparently a symptom; “let’s target The Gamerz; microtransactions have proven they’ll drop money on any old shit, we’ll make a generic as fuck pair of trainers and say they’re Gaming Shoe, whack a fat price tag on them and watch the money roll on in”.

Basically, gamers have done this to themselves.

Link BTW in case you’re feeling overburdened with money: https://eu.puma.com/uk/en/pd/active-gaming-footwear/306663.html


synapse December 21, 2019

those look awesome, but I think i'll stick to my $20 fitkicks

Purple-Haired Prick synapse ⋅ December 21, 2019

I do hope you're joking on that first part of the sentence. Then again, I only wear boots, so to each their own. But even if I did wear trainers, those fucking thngs are hideous. Bleecgh!

synapse Purple-Haired Prick ⋅ December 21, 2019

i am a big fan of shoes that are basically a sock, but with a rubber sole. my feet are here for steppin not to be pretty

Purple-Haired Prick synapse ⋅ December 21, 2019

Yeah well they look like they'd wear out in a week. I'll stick to my boots.

synapse Purple-Haired Prick ⋅ December 21, 2019 (edited December 21, 2019)

Edited

my cheapo version of this takes a few months to wear out, and I work in them 10k+ steps a day. for $100 i hope fucking not. i honestly think if this shit is durable it would definitely explain the price.

Purple-Haired Prick synapse ⋅ December 22, 2019

I should bloody hope they're durable haha, but are they even designed to be worn outside? Not a lot of gaming goes on outside lol.

synapse Purple-Haired Prick ⋅ December 22, 2019

marketing says socks for indoors, but the rubber soles makes them more categorically shoe than sock. i think, without rain or snow, they would be fine outdoors.

EchoSeven December 21, 2019

Randomly saw this on the front page and laughed out loud. This is the most ridiculous thing I've seen in a while. Personally I prefer not to wear shoes at all when I game but I guess that's doing it wrong haha

Purple-Haired Prick EchoSeven ⋅ December 21, 2019

Peasant! Fake Gamer™! HOW DARE YOU BE COMFORTABLE!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.