Don't Say A Word in God, With Skin On

  • Dec. 20, 2019, 9:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have always wondered why Job’s three friends said nothing to him for 7 days. Perhaps Job was in such an ugly dis-figuration, maybe the appearance was so shocking they had no words. And that is where I am going to day with this post.
Sometimes, we say it best, when we say nothing at all. I wonder if that would make a good country song? LOL. However there is much truth to that phrase.
I deal with grieving people and I have come to find out that empty words, or cliches are worthless. I’m Sorry doesn’t help, the are grieving, they are sorry too. They, (he, she,) are in a better place. So, I’m left here to deal with life without them. Or my favorite, God needed them more than you did. Really? With everyone God has already taken God needed them more?
I recently completed a course on Chaplaincy and the course dealt with the subject of handling with grief. One thing I took away from it, sometimes they don’t need to hear words, they need to see action! A smile, a hug, not an offer to do something, but do it without asking. What they really need is a person to just be there. If they want to talk they will, if not they won’t. People feel they need to say something.
A week ago I attended the visitation for the husband of one our secretaries. As I walked through the line of visitors I tried to think of something to say that might help. Then it hit me, just be there. So I just hugged her and told her she hadn’t aged since her wedding day. Which by the way was true!
Sometimes people just need a hug, a smile and someone to listen. Oh, and why Job’s friends were silent for so long? Maybe they realized they didn’t have the answers?


crystal butterfly December 20, 2019

And sometimes they need someone to listen as they talk about their loved one. Something so many of avoid mentioning. The person who has left.

Douglas Kinney crystal butterfly ⋅ December 22, 2019

Point well taken.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.