Google Mini or Amazon Alexa? in Life After 60

  • Dec. 18, 2019, 3:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, I have been a little slow jumping on this whole “smart” house revolution. Privacy concerns aside, I just didn’t see a need. Until I got one. And I think it is great except for the fact it makes me lazy. “Hey Google, turn on the T.V.”
The real test comes from which is better? After doing my homework I went with Google Home Mini. It is set up to control the lights in my living room, kitchen, and bedroom. No more walking down the hallway in the dark and stumping my toes.
What I like is being able a access my Google Play List from Google Music. The songs I upload can be played with just a command, “Hey Google play Kenny Chesney from my play list. And like magic the music starts. What I don’t like? “Hey, Google play, Take It To The Limit, by the Eagles.” I’m sorry that song is only available with premium music.”
Enter The Amazon Echo Dot with Alexa! “Alexa, play Take It To The Limit, by the Eagles. Bam! Randall Herman Meisner starts belting out those notes like magic. The thing I don’t like about Ms. Dot? She cant’ access my Google Music. But her music selection is so much better than Googles. Granted I could upload the music to Google Music but where’s the fun in that? But then again, I pay $120.00 a year for my Amazon Prime Membership and nothing for Google Music.
So which is better? They both have their pluses and minuses. Google does seem to be a little slow at responding to commands and some days she misses them all to gather. Alexa? I really haven’t found anything except for the not being able to load my own music to, that I don’t like. So I have both. I wonder if I could get them to talk to each other?


Pies on a Carousel December 18, 2019

I was an early advocate of Alexa, bought it when most people still hadn't heard of it. And I remember thinking at the time that it was too bad that Google didn't make an equivalent because Google was already fairly involved in my life in a way that Amazon wasn't. Then of course Google came out with their own version a year later. I run the Google Home app on my phone for things like Chromecast, but I still don't actually have a Google Home device because it just doesn't seem like there's much it would do that Alexa isn't already doing.

Douglas Kinney Pies on a Carousel ⋅ December 19, 2019

I actually started with Google Home Mini because I received on as a gift. I liked it, but some of the limitations just made me have to have Alexa. Okay, it was most likely some subliminal message from Amazon telling me my life was unfulfilled without her! LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.