A Battle of Wits in God, With Skin On

  • Dec. 17, 2019, 10:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I ponder many things in life. And lately I have pondered the whole good verses evil. I have a problem trying to understand why God didn’t chose another path to redemption. For that matter why didn’t God just put an end to it all and condemn Lucifer to hell and the rest of us got a free pass to Eden?
There are no answers. Where did God come from? The theological answer is, He always was. He always was what? Everything and everyone has to come from something. That’s the science of it all. Much like which came first, the chicken or the egg?
Yes there are days that I doubt the whole creations/redemption story. It sounds to me like two egotistical powers decided to see which one could beat the other and we humans became not only pawns but our souls become the prize. And if we don’t follow the rules of God we loose the game.
I have more questions than answers. Where do we go when we die? Some say we enter what is knows as “soul sleep”, other say to be absent from the body is to be present with the Lord. But present where? Heaven? It is 1500 square miles in size or 2,250,000 sq miles total. Why can’t we see something that big?
We are asked to accept the Bible by faith. The problem is, faith doesn’t work within the 5 senses. I am not saying God isn’t real or the Bible is just a fairy tale. I am just saying some days it’s hard to accept. Much like seeing the forest for the trees!


woman in the moon December 17, 2019

Ok, exCatholic, semi-atheist me. when in a good mood, I try to be zen and believe that this is it, good bad indifferent. We are here and it is enough to just have our lives. when in a bad mood, I pretty much think/believe the same thing.
I admire clergy people. I respect their education and their aims in life. So like all of us, I guess we have to just do what we can with what we have.
The god thing/the God Thing may or may not matter.

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ December 18, 2019

ExCatholic? I am always interested in why people leave their church or beliefs. When I am in a good mood I accept the Bible at face value. When I am not, I question it all!!!!

woman in the moon Douglas Kinney ⋅ December 18, 2019 (edited December 18, 2019)

Edited

I was raised in the church, married in it, my kids were baptized - and I never went back. I remember my first little catechism - in the first grade - had a suspended earth on the cover looking prescient like the photos from space. I was proud to be growing up but I knew it wasn't true. None of it. Not for me anyway. I have always been proud of thinking for myself and I do not want to surrender my fate, goals, beliefs to any organization, no matter how old or intelligent or how pretty the stained glass or the marble statues.
The step that make me really leave was birth control. I married young and had a lot of years of months in which I could get pregnant. I knew I could not have as many kids as God ordained. I took birth control pills. I went to confession. First priest was understanding, second one wasn't. I decided if it was my decision I would make it for myself with out help or approval or condemnation.
So there. That's about it.
I've tried to believe the Bible, to be born again, to be saved, but there is no there there for me - at all. I think religion is ok for those who want it but it's sure as hell not for everybody.
Love you just the same.

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ December 19, 2019

I feel your pain. And those are not empty words. I left my denomination church when I was 50. Mine was due to my wife divorcing me and in some churches that pretty much is the nail in the coffin. Plus started questioning some of the tenants of my faith.
I totally agree with your stance on birth control, but then again, I am not a catholic, not that it should matter. Just because God said, Be Fruitful and Multiply doesn't mean everyone should adhere to that policy. Of course, He doesn't give a number when to stop either.
As for believe in the Bible, to be born again, to be saved...Yes,there is something there for you. You just have to let it in, and some times after the church has let us down that is not easy. And the Protestant folks want to make Salvation so hard and add man made requirements. Jesus said BELIEVE and you shall be saved. Pretty simple if you ask me. I read no where in the Bible where someone came to an altar, cried, confessed their sins, and asked forgiven,signed a book and joined a church. (Yeah, I tend to think outside the box)
And I love you just the same. You are always welcomed here.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.