5. Twits in Space Skeleton FROM SPACE

  • Dec. 17, 2019, 4:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So today I got permanently suspended from Twitter, and I find I’m okay with that. The tweet that landed me in hot water was “The New Xbox? Looks stupid, still probably going to get it”. I shit you not.

Here’s the thing: I know who it was who reported me. There’s this maniac who’s been stalking me across several different accounts over the last few years. I’ve never said anything untoward to this fucknut (except now of course), but he’s been following me to my Twitch, to my Mixer, to my facebook, always being abusive and trollish. I just kept blocking him and for six or seven months he’d been MIA, which suited me down to the ground.

But today he managed to get me suspended from twitter. Permanently. God knows I don’t particularly give a flying fuck about twitter but I made friends there, genuine friends whom I have become very close to indeed. Most of them, naturally, have my phone number and/or email address, but I shouldn’t even be in this postition in the FIRST FUCKING PLACE.

Twitter is really fucking weird. They’ll permanently suspend me for the most spurious of reasons yet they have no problems with the Neo Nazis or that wig-headed fuck up in the White House tweeting incendiary and hateful bile all day long.

Anyhow. Deep breath. It’s fine. I’m 35 years old and I have to purge everything and start over. My album hasn’t even been spoken about, let alone released, so that’s not a problem. I may keep the Mixer account but the Twitch account is purged. Nobody, and I do mean nobody, knows about this place, so that’s a blessing.

I just wanted to talk about videogames. Why was that such a problem? And while I’m on the subject, the Twitter videogame/retro-gaming scene is filled with douchebags. Some honest-to-God whackaloons up in that bitch, from dyed-in-the-wool misogynists to outright stalkers. I won’t miss twitter in the fucking slightest.

But I will miss some of the people I call friend. Because I can count on one, stumpy, digitless hand how many Real World™ friends I have.

Fuck! FUCK!!! God DAMN it!

I’m fine.


woman in the moon December 17, 2019

I'm sorry. I don't understand twitter. or facebook for that matter. one of my favorite twitter personalities Mr Weeks was thrown out too. He's at facebook now but it's not the same.

Purple-Haired Prick woman in the moon ⋅ December 17, 2019

I'm no fan of facebook, and over the last few weeks I've been seriously considering leaving twitter anyhow... but of my own volition. I'm not upset at leaving twitter, the whole site is a canker. I'm just upset that I didn't even have any warning to find my friends and let them know what happened.

As for my stalker, well, he doesn't seem to have realised that he can no longer stalk me given that he no longer knows where to find me. Well, to Hell with it - it's almost midday and as I'm my own boss I think I'm just gonna have a drink or seven. Chin chin.

Purple-Haired Prick woman in the moon ⋅ December 17, 2019 (edited December 17, 2019)

Edited

I'm more than happy not being at twitter however. It fosters hatred, and the moderation is a joke. I think being forced to condense your thoughts into 180 characters makes people more blunt and less thoughtful in their missives. Beyond all that though it's filled to the brim with Nazis. So it's actually a weight off my back, no longer being a member of that accursed place. And here? Here is slower, more thoughtful (I'm using that word a lot; big writer, me), and I can take my time to think about what I want to write and how I wish to reply to people.

I had an account here a few years back, though I don't remember the name. It's good to have returned.

Edited to fix a grammatical error.

Cranberry December 18, 2019

I'd never heard of this site either before just now, but it reminds me of Livejournal. And I hear you about the gaming scene. Gamers used to be the ones ousted from "normal" society (read: those into sports and, I dunno, "traditional" hobbies? :p ) so we clung together because we were weird and we knew it. And we loved each other for that. Not sure what happened. My guess is the bullies pushed their way into our spaces, and realized games actually are cool, but that they could bully even harder now and got off on that. I'm sorry you've had such a hard time with the gaming/Twitter crowd. I swear the Internet didn't use to be like this. I'm thinking back in 1993-96 when I was online for the first time. The attitude really was different.

Purple-Haired Prick Cranberry ⋅ December 19, 2019

I remember. That's actually when I first started "blogging", back in like 1999 on OpenDiary (the world's first blogging site. It died, ProseBox rose from the ashes, and now OpenDiary is back as a paid subscription, which is hilarious)

Internet in every home is a great idea! Until you realise that actually most of the people on this planet are twats.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.