4. Unwell in Space Skeleton FROM SPACE

  • Dec. 16, 2019, 4:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Before I start this entry, I feel I should warn anyone reading this that I swear, a lot, and if you are offended by that, I suggest you don’t read. I’m not in the habit of censoring myself.

I spent many years homeless, not something I’m particularly proud of but sure as Hell nothing I’m ashamed of. I didn’t take care of my health as well as I could.

A year ago we moved into this amazing flat, my wife and I and our cats. About six months ago I started having a tooth issue so I went to the dentist, who removed it (after a four month waiting list, but hey, NHS). When I had the check-up, Leia (my dentist, real name) told me I had a lesion in the corner of my mouth over by my gum and whilst it wasn’t anything dangerous it was something I should keep an eye on (figuratively speaking).

Of course, I continued drinking and smoking.

Well, I’ve quit cigrattes now of course, but this thing has come back, or rather, it’s noticeable again. It hurts a little every now and then, nothing massively painful. In fact I feel like I get sores in my mouth quite often, although they always go away after a few days.

Now, I ain’t going to lie here, I’m a little bit scared. I spent decades smoking, drinking, doing drugs, and generally not taking care of my body. The second I get on a health kick, eating healthily, exercising, stopping smoking and moderating my drinking, I start getting weird pains in my body and lumps and lesions and what have you. I’m 35 years old, hardly a baby anymore but not old, and I just don’t want to die yet. Cowardly, perhaps, but there you have it. What’s worse is that my local GPs office isn’t taking new patients for some fucking reason, so I’ve been without a doctor since I actually moved in. And since I never had a doctor whilst I was homeless, and I was homeless since I was 15… well, you can see where I’m going with that one.

Anyway, weird. I mean it doesn’t hurt all the time, and I’m no stranger to pain in my mouth, but what she said about it being something that could develop into something worse, that stuck with me. Guess I better get my ass over to a GP who’ll let me sign up, or register or whatever the fuck.

Christ.

Hey, did I also mention that last night I had sharp, stabbing pains in both lungs that were so bad I nearly passed out? But, I’ve been getting those for over ten years, so I’m not too worried on that score. Just my body cleaning itself out, I hope.

Hey, guys? Don’t smoke.


Cranberry December 18, 2019

I hope you can get things taken care of as soon as possible. Health issues are no joke. <3

Purple-Haired Prick Cranberry ⋅ December 19, 2019

I'm fine. Just need to take better care of my Temple, and whatnot.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.