gut instinct. in crawling into 2014.

  • March 14, 2014, 7:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It's funny, though not in a 'ha ha' way, but I totally believe in my gut instinct. Sometimes it's strong and sometimes just a whiffle of a nagging feeling but it's often there.

I'll give you some examples of when it's hit me. In 1997 I was a live in nanny and needed to get out in the evenings - away from work. One Wednesday evening everything in me was telling me not to go but I ignored it and went. I was involved in a car crash and wrote off my boss's car!

The Christmas before last I was at my dad's house, out for a run. Home town is pretty small so it's hard to run any kind of distance but, by going over the old fashioned level crossing - the manned one that has to open the gates manually when a car wants to cross - and along the single track lane I can loop around into the other side of town and back again which is a 3 mile route. Art the end of the single track lane I have always turned left onto a housing estate. Always. On that run, at the end, I just turned right. This was a whiffly nag of a decision because I want really aware of it. When I got around the corner there was a man in the middle of the road trying to force his way into a lady's car. she got rid of him before I got there but I was all for crossing over and helping if it was needed. I was, however, able to lend a bit of support and act as witness for the police.

This morning, as I set out to run, I had no specific running plan as it's insanely foggy here at the moment. Where I ran would depend on the level of fog. But as I set off I couldn't find an easy feeling about any direction so I decided just to go out to the main road where there are proper crossings with green men and everything! Crossing over to the other side was fine but coming back was a different matter.

Because of the fog I was being wary about how well the drivers could see - I know, I drove in it yesterday and kept my speed down, scanning both road and pavement (sidewalk) all the time.

I pressed the button, waiting for the green man telling me that I could cross and when he appeared I was extra vigilant about checking the cars that were hurtling towards me. It's a 50mph road and, based on weather conditions, most od the traffic was going slower. All except one car which I could see was (a) going way over the speed limit and (b) oblivious to the requirement to stop. So I waited for him to fly past. As he was doing so he suddenly braked. Way to late to have avoided me if I'd chosen to run over without checking first.

This was my facebook update: To the person who drove through the red light on Marlborough road at more than 50mph, it's lucky for you that I had MY fog aware head on or you'd be thinking more than "oh shit was that red?!" You'd be wondering why the hell there was a runner on your car bonnet.

And that is why I should listen to my gut feeling... but I could never miss a running session based on a whiffle!


~Twinkle~ March 14, 2014

Glad you are ok x

Deleted user March 14, 2014

Good work gut

thesunnyabyss March 14, 2014

I am so glad you listened and are safe and sound!!

Hugs!!

Deleted user March 14, 2014

So glad you looked!! I'm a HUGE believer in making sure drivers see me before I cross the road. I may have the right of way, but as a driver too, I know how easy it is to 'miss' someone walking or biking. That's a pretty strong instinct you have though... several times now!

salty*dog March 14, 2014

So glad you listened to your gut! A flat ermen wouldn't be a good thing at all.

ElvenAssassin March 14, 2014

Oh, can you take a picture of your crossing lights? Ours are white! I have never heard of them being green. I guess the rationale being that it might confuse a driver?

ElvenAssassin March 14, 2014

Also, very glad you're safe!

Life Is For Living March 14, 2014

I fully believe in gut instincts. I tend to get a feeling one way or another. I had a horrible feeling about going to a concert, just did not feel like going. Even had the thought of wearing nice underwear like my Grandmother always said in case of an accident. I should have listened to my gut, but we did not want to be out of all of that money. That night, we hit a deer. I was off work for 1.5 months because of that accident. BUT, because of that accident, we decided to get married. Good & bad things come from such situations, I guess!

Glad you didn't end up on that guy's hood. Yikes! xxx

The Tranquil Loon March 14, 2014

I have always been a walker and I see it more and more over the years: Not many vehicles are looking for or even slowing down for pedestrians. Makes me sick and ill especially for the little kiddos trying to cross the road. Glad you are safe. Glad you are listening to the red flag people!

Deleted user March 14, 2014

So glad and relieved you followed your intuition! I am a great believer in it too. Once Frank and I were in a convenience store picking up a few items late at night ( and getting gas) . Frank paid for the gas and I was going to pay for the things I had picked up. Some rough looking guys walked in and I immediately dropped my items on a shelf, grabbed F. and said we have to go. He thought I was crazy but after we left, they robbed the store and they had guns. Another time Blake was three and was very ill with an asthma attack . We had been in the ER for hours . The doctor for no reason suddenly said Blake was stable but I knew he wasn't . I argued with the Dr. But he was adamant Blake was ok to go home. When we left I asked F. to go to his Mom's instead of home ( his Mom's house was only a quarter of a mile from the hospital ). Frank was tired and said he just wanted to go home but I insisted. We got there, I laid Blake on the couch and went into the kitchen for a drink then felt I should check on Blake again. He was blue and in full respiratory arrest. I grabbed him up and told F. To drive 90 miles an hour back to the hospital- all the while trying to do CPR on Blake. We got there and he was able to be resuscitated but if I had waited two or three minutes more we would have lost him. I am a terrible worrier but I try to always follow my intuition even if it seems ridiculous .

Deleted user March 16, 2014

YIKES! Glad you are okay. hug

January Child March 17, 2014

omg!!!!! I've had near misses with cars and know how scary it can be... Glad you are ok!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.