Prozac in Life After 60

  • Dec. 16, 2019, 11:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

If you met me on the street there is nothing that makes me stand out in a crowd. I blend in quite well. That is the way I got through high school. Blending in. And unless you have been a reader of my post you would never know by looking I have a chemical imbalance in my brain that effects my every day life. I think I hide it well.
But I am a functioning manic depressive. The smile I put on every day is just like a woman putting on her makeup. It hides the imperfections. Out of the 196 some odd people I work with I doubt any of them know. It is not one of those illnesses you advertise. In fact you hope no one ever finds out. And my current treatment was working well until November. Then I noticed a change in my behavior and attitude.
So today I had a regular scheduled appointment with my doctor and I knew it was time to ask for help. Enter, Prozac, the pill that tricks me into tolerating you and liking myself! Add that to my bipolar medication and I might just turn out to enjoy the new year. Happiness is a destination that’s hard to find, it may take some time, but then as Ringo Starr sang on Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band Album, I get high with a little help from my friends.
Enjoy your week.


woman in the moon December 17, 2019

I want it and I don't want it. It's like a speedometer on a car. I go 40. I go 60. I go 80. I put on the brakes and stop.

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ December 18, 2019

It's that sudden stop that sometimes gets me! Or is that the brick wall I hit?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.