First Entry: What is my intent? in Ignatowski, Me

  • Dec. 13, 2019, 5:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hi world of journal keepers,

Joining you all! Something about the idea of keeping a journal has an appeal that I cannot put my finger on. I have been meaning to keep records of my thoughts, ideas, and emotions for a long time. Especially with the added factor of anonymously posting it publicly– interesting!

Though I do not fully why I am starting a journal, here are some of my goals in keeping this journal:

(1) Become a more proficient writer
(2) Practice stick-to-itiveness
(3) Be completely honest with how I feel and what I feel… even if I have the urge to disagree with myself
(4) Observe my life more closely, past and present
(5) Record memories and stories of my life
(6) Keep a quick log of my day-to-day life
(7) Explore ideas more in-depth by writing them out… hashing things out “on paper” more often
(8) Embracing the uncomfortable things in my life
(9) Expressing my thoughts on the people that are/were in my life… girlfriends, friends, family, co-workers, etc…
(10) Adding enrichment to my life

How have you all gotten involved with keeping an online journal? What do enjoy about it?


Pennyworth's Ghost December 13, 2019

All good things, man. Welcome to PB.

I got into journaling around 20 years ago, in high school, because I needed a way to process my thoughts but didn't feel like I had anyone I could really talk to. I write about all kinds of dumb things now, but believe me when I say journaling has helped me through some of the lowest lows of my life, especially sharing my stories online and then receiving other people's words of encouragement and support. Whatever happens from here on, I can say for certain that this community will be here for you, and that's probably the best thing about it.

We're happy to have you here, and very much look forward to reading your entries.

EchoSeven December 13, 2019

Welcome to PB! Those are all great reasons to start an online journal. I've been keeping one since about 2002 and it's hands down gotten me through all the toughest periods of my life since then. Beyond that, it's a great outlet for when I need to organize my thoughts or get things right with myself. The PB community is also full of amazing, supportive people who all kind of look out for each other.

I hope you find you like it here!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.