First day!! (edited!) in Things that matter

  • Sept. 6, 2013, 9:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today is actually the first day for a couple of things! Both super important and awesome :-)

The first is that today should be my first day of work! Once I drop the kids off I'm going to start doing it, see how it goes :-)

The second is that my mom has had nephrostomy tubes for more than 2 years now I believe. They go into her back, are threaded under her organs, go into her kidneys, and then back out into bags. The bags attached to her legs and were for urine. The tubes kept getting infected and she literally almost died from it more than once. The goal was to go in, repair any damaged tissue, take the tubes out... then test the kidney, and if it's working, fix the second one. Unfortunately, after the second of these surgeries, the second kidney just was NOT working right, and she kept getting infections. Every time they tried to cap her tubes off (to see if the kidneys would work) the pressure would build up, and she'd have to uncap the tubes. The tube capping process is to see if her kidneys work without it. A couple of days ago they capped her tubes.. and they were working beautifully, capped. So she was due to have a major exploratory procedure done yesterday to see why her second kidney, in spite of surgery, still seemed to be blocked up. Instead, she messaged me last night to say that day TWO of her capped tubes was fabulous and nothing backed up or got blocked, so instead of exploring, the doctor took out her last tube, so she is now tubeless and bagless and SO thrilled for it. She was SO depressed when the second surgery didn't work. So this was a super huge great big deal :-D This means that the plans we made for her to come visit for Christmas will actually happen! Hubby gets a HUGE bonus check (8% of his gross income for the year!) so we can easily swing getting her a ticket :-D

My kids schools apparently release early every first friday of the month, which would be today, so I'm going to have a SUPER short day, and I think when they get home I'm going to let them have fun in the back yard with the sprinkler! :-D

Oh, and caught mouse count is now up to FOUR! WTF?? In other house news.. I still have one door hanging by one hinge, a closet door hanging by one hinge, frayed carpet because they failed to place a strip to transition from carpet to tile AND now the wall that holds my t.v., router (it's moved for now), dvd player... all that stuff?? The power quit on that wall. Nice. When I have a minor issue that I'm not hard pressed over.. the leasing company harrasses me about it. When I have a genuine issue (like lack of internet would be bad with my new job!), they don't answer my e-mail...LOL.

Edit- I forgot to mention a couple of things that happened yesterday! lol. When I go pick up Izzy I bypass my entire neighborhood. Tulsa is generally laid out in a grid, it's very simple to find things, BUT right in my neighborhood there are these weird turns, so I'm not quite sure what street to take to get home. I decided that it couldn't be that hard.. and went through the neighborhood. I hit a dead end, turned, turned again, realized the street numbers were going the wrong way.. turned again, finally hit a busy intersection, and I was all the way past ASHLIE'S school!!! lol. I was just like whoa.. how on Earth did I do that?? lol.

And I almost killed my daughter yesterday. Marcus had an appointment to get his ADHD medicine restarted (his step-mother stopped it for some unknown reason, Marcus said laziness, I'm guessing money) here, since he asked for it, and feels like he can concentrate better with it. Since he was out of school, I decided to drive to her school to pick her up. Usually, since both Ashlie and Marcus's schools release at the same time, and are in different directions, I pick him up, then I have her walk the very short 5 blocks to a parking lot near our house. The walk is super simple, packed with stores and other walkers, it's pretty safe. I had a fleeting thought yesterday that if she were ever kidnapped, I would have serious issues dealing with the guilt. It was fleeting, and I blew it off. I went to go pick her up, sat in my car, ignored the nasty little 8th graders (one insulted my car, because it was "dirty", the other started mocking "white people" voices by saying "like o m g!"), and Ashlie never came out of the school. I thought maybe she exited a different way, and drove to the parking lot.. no Ashlie, but a group of hoodlums, and I was like um, maybe I missed her walking, so I drove back to the school, nothing, no one walking. At this point it is 15 minutes past school release, and 10 minutes past when we meet. I was FLIPPING OUT. I haven't felt that sick in a LONG TIME. I called the school, asked if any classes had been released late, and the woman that answered said they all released on time. I told her "ok, I have a missing child then" and I literally like choked on the word missing. I was SO distraught. The woman in the office told me to hold on, asked for Ashlie's name, and then was like "oh, she's in the hallway, she'll be out in a minute" If I wasn't so relieved when Ashlie came out, I would have killed her...LOL. Her previous reading teacher (she got moved to another class), had brought her a bag of books to read, and they were discussing the books... phew, seriously, if I go the rest of my life without worrying that my kid was kidnapped, I'll be so happy! lol.


Chaosindreams September 06, 2013

Good luck at working! You're gonna rock it, I have no doubts at all!

I've had similar instances with jonathon when he was going to 6th grade, I thought he was completely kidnapped or ran away or something once, turns out he just went out of the school and was talking to friends for over an hour. I wanted to just strangle ihm after I hugged his face off!

Teflon Superhero September 06, 2013

I gotta fix my door hanging by one hinge but the door frame is so old and torn up the hing won't stay x(

♥ Kasi M. September 08, 2013

I'm glad Ashlie came out of the school! I can't imagine how you felt at that time.

How was your first day?

Deleted user September 08, 2013

Yay for the job. I wish I could work from home. I obviously can't see my clients from home, but it would be nice to be able to write my reports and stuff from home.

I wouldn't have freaked out about Ashlie too. I'm glad she was still at the school.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.