Dating Profiles in Life After 60

  • Dec. 5, 2019, 10:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, folks, let’s open up the phone lines for some questions. Dating Profiles, most seem to be pretty generic. Of course, I have already addressed the picture from when you were 21 as your profile picture. What I fail to understand Ladies and please feel free to help me out or maybe I should let you check out my profile and tell me what I am doing wrong, why is online dating so different from the good ole days when a man met a woman, they talked, he asked her out and the rest was history. Today, some just want SEX or to talk forever. (and yes men are pigs, so ladies I have covered that for you.)
What I really think is this. Half or more of the profiles on dating sites are fake. They do that to make would be subscribers think there are hundreds of potential men and women just waiting to find love.
So how long do you wait, talk, text before you meet? My dating average is like my bowling score…LOW. So let here it. And to the phones, we go, right after this message from Crook and Bandit Attorneys at Law–


woman in the moon December 05, 2019

I live on a farm near a small town at least an hour from anything that might be considered a city/population center. I've been a widow for almost 20 years. I joined a free dating site many years ago - there's probably just one anyway. I got nowhere. I really think - or I have convinced myself - that 'dating' depends on population density. Failing that it comes from picking up freshly single, somewhat suitable people immediately as they become available. The long(er)(est) time singles are too set in their ways - me included - for there to be opportunities.
As to profiles, I tried to be cute, to be cunning, to be someone different from other people = and boy did it not work. I would have been satisfied with someone who would chat with me maybe once a week but that was as hard to come by as a life partner.
I don't remember my password anymore.

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ December 06, 2019

I live outside of a 100,00 population metro area and the odds of me finding someone, well as my favorite movies quote it, and I paraphrase here, men over 40 are more likely to be struck by lightning than finding a mate.

woman in the moon December 05, 2019

Since you asked - though this is not WHAT you asked - I think that if we could get to know one another without the 'pressure' of dating, we might have a broader field to pick from. Some people who didn't 'meet my standards' might have been more attractive if I could have gotten to know them, and vice versa.
I know you don't want to hear this, but there were men who weren't interested unless I would say I would have sex with them. I mean I wasn't totally averse but I didn't like it as a requirement for any communication.

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ December 06, 2019

One the subject of sex, yes, MEN are pigs and for the few of us gentlemen that still exist it makes it difficult. We all seem to get lumped into two categories, Prince Charming or Satan! And I agree, if I could get to know some people first I might find them more attractive.

woman in the moon December 05, 2019

In the book Terms of Endearment, widow Aurora Greenway had suitors. Several comic characters who she entertained to mutual benefit without commitment.
In the movie Terms of Endearment they were replaced by Jack Nicolson, the retired astronaut next door - and he got high billing. The plot of the story became her attempts to capture him.

woman in the moon December 05, 2019

What I wanted was friendship = perhaps but not definitely = leading to love.
Sorry for monopolizing your notes. Little like a dating site, huh?

Douglas Kinney woman in the moon ⋅ December 06, 2019

No problem with the notes, I find you entertaining. And no my dating sites conversations are usually two and out. I don't know maybe I need to be more of a jerk?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.