Of New Beginnings in The Book Of Everything

Revised: 12/03/2019 7:06 p.m.

  • Dec. 2, 2019, 5 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is my first time writing here.

It’s actually the first time I’ve ever written a journal of some kind, I think. Now that I think about it, I might have written a couple entries when I was little, in one of those diaries you get when you’re about 7 or 8 and you start to learn how to write coherent sentences, so you want to try out the art of literature yourself, possibly in the hopes of learning that you had an innate talent as a writer. As many things do when we are younger, the diary ended up being untouched and forgotten after maybe a week.

Well, this time I would like for this to not be the case. I am now almost three times that age and this means that now my head has achieved the ability commonly referred to as “overthinking”. Often my head feels like a big pot that is being stirred repeatedly and furiously, which means sometimes the pot’s content might leak out. And by leaking out I mean that I think I tend to be overly convoluted when talking because I have way too many thoughts present in my head at one time. I’d like this diary of sorts to contain the order that can be derived from the chaos of the mind, if that is even possible. Instead of keeping everything inside my head and trying to rationalize whatever it is that’s being passed on by the stream of consciousness at one specific moment, which will be promptly be forgotten the moment after, I’d like to try writing things down for once, to see whether I can make sense of my thoughts. And to maybe leave something fun to read for my future self, the one 10, 20, 30 years down the line. There is certainly a patience and clarity to writing, no one’s really waiting for a response when you’re writing for yourself, and this is truly helpful for mental well-being when living in such lively and noisy times.

So this first entry is just to finalize the resolve to start writing. And maybe to hope that there can be a second one after it.


Last updated December 03, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.