Technology: When it works in Life After 60

  • Dec. 3, 2019, 1:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes, (more times than I like to admit) computers seem to have a mind of their own. I know there are keystroke combinations that can make your job easier, and then, there are those that just totally screw things up. Rule number 1, always make a backup of your work. Rule number 2, refer back to rule number 1.
Having established the working rules for the premise of my little rant, I hit one of those keystroke combinations unknowingly and wiped out my entire Gmail contact list at work. Simple fix, just export, convert, import and voila, good as new. Except when it isn’t. (Error, could not import contacts, wrong format) How can this be I just exported them from one of the secretary’s master list? Try again. Nope, wrong format. Okay, let’s go to my trusty sidekick Google and see what I am missing. Export, convert to scv, import, and voila, good as new. Nope. So I quit for the day.
This morning at 6:30 I am at it again. But this time I try a copy and paste. Still won’t work. The cells do not match. And that is when it hit me. Delete the extra stuff the secretary’s file has and try it again. Worked like a charm. With the exception of some 100 that copied but show no information. Just a generic icon. For some reason, google sheets didn’t like the format so it merged two email address into one file. Needless to say, After several hours of manually correcting then, I found a template online that took care of the issue. Technology, you have to love it when it works, and when it doesn’t, I have to. Have a great day and remember, back up your work.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.