M, Esq in Befuddled Mind

  • Dec. 1, 2019, 7:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In my area there is a smallish book store/coffee shop. I used to visit very early each morning to have a cup, pick up a paper and chat with some of the other very early morning regulars. Most mornings there was a plumpish woman, brown hair, very conservatively dressed and thing that I noticed most about her was her laugh. She didn’t laugh a lot, but when she did it could easily break glass. It got to the point where I intentionally tried to get her to laugh, just to hear her shriek.

I hung on every witty, intelligent word she said for over a year during our usually deep discussions about life, God, people. One day I asked her what she worked ...... she said she was an attorney, and I filed that away in the back of my mind for future reference, in case I needed to retain her. Out of the blue one morning she initiated a conversation about sex at work. She asked probing questions about my thoughts, had I ever had sex “on the clock” and many similar questions and comments. We laughed (she shrieked) and each went our way that day, and I didn’t give it another thought. The next week, early one morning as she was leaving she handed me her business card. On the back she had written, “My office, 2pm on Friday, please be prompt!!”

I didn’t know the message was for me, but I was about to find out.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.